Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Sheffield Sacred Harp Singing

Worrall Memorial Hall, Worrall, United Kingdom

Saturday, October 13, 2018

The annual Sheffield All-Day Sacred Harp Singing was called to order at Worrall Memorial Hall by Vicki Elliot leading 34b. Leaders: Eimear O’Donovan 56t; Joe Vickers 52t; Sam Carter 108b; Chris Brown 82t; Josh Lant 50t; Emily Verrier 36b; Martel Reynolds 49t; Claire Welford 89; Thomas Sprackland 63; Helen Brown 32t; Phil Tyler 88t; Steve Brett 171; Philippe Doyle-Gosselin 138t; Ted Brown 37b; Sinéad Hanrahan 187; Jacoba Bruneel 272; Richard Mayers 311; Katie Ahern 228; Joy Spreadborough 47b; Kate Kirwan 135; Colin Monson 350; Niamh O’Sullivan 217; David Garman 410t; Penny Macbeth 122; Derek Buckland 111b.


Sam Carter called the class to order by leading 314. Leaders: Piers Cawley 178; Calum Woods 405; Ross Harbison 76b; Rosalind Woods 168; Amy Parkin 117; Ted Brown 445; Emily Verrier 503.

Thomas Sprackland spoke for the sick and housebound, leading 47t for the following: Curtis Owen, Melanie Hauff, Philip Ralls, Laura Densmore, Chris Densmore, Charlie Miller, Cath Tyler, David Elliott, Edwin Macadam, Charlene Wallace, Adrian Eldridge, Sister Pippa, and Joyce Farrell.

Eimear O’Donovan then spoke for the deceased and led 340 in memory of the following: Steve Harrison, Rev. Michael Pain, Harry Cowking, Janet Winstanley, Bob Patten, Anthony Gill, Gillian Tolfrey, Peter Golding, John Hayto, Reginald Brett, Susan Carr—United Kingdom; Darrell Swarens—Indiana, USA; Stuart Tanner, USA; Daphene Causey, Glenda Hopper, Barbara Isbell, Lily Hopper—Alabama, USA; Freddie Briggs—Florida, USA; Greg Hodnett—Pennsylvania, USA; Rodney Willard and Barbara Willard—Arizona, USA; Steve Helwig—Oregon, USA; David Gasi—Australia; Vlad—Canada; Anne—United Kingdom.

Leaders: Claire Welford 523; Chris Brown 234; Sinéad Hanrahan 546; Philippe Doyle-Gosselin 32b; Kate Kirwan 351.


Judy Whiting called the class back to order by leading 72b. Leaders: Piers Cawley 146; Cath Saunt 99; Laurie Skelton 35; Julie Russell 107; Derek Buckland 339; Amy Parkin 128; Josh Lant 296; Martel Reynolds 504; Joe Vickers 385t; Jacoba Bruneel 522; Calum Woods 181; Ross Harbison 204; Vicki Elliot 454 (for Hannah Land); Phil Tyler 442; Katie Ahern 434; Richard Mayers 528; Helen Brown 192; Steve Brett 225t; Niamh O’Sullivan 475; Sam Carter 270; Philippe Doyle-Gosselin 411; David Garman 133; Sinéad Hanrahan 447; Thomas Sprackland 290; Colin Monson 142.


Kate Kirwan called the class back to order leading 319. Leaders: Joy Spreadborough 277; Ross Harbison 163t; Emily Verrier 318; Ted Brown 77t; Julie Russell 344; Steve Brett 376; Katie Ahern 436 (for Amanda Parkes); Derek Buckland 124; Niamh O’Sullivan 176t; Joe Vickers 138b; Rosalind Woods 275t; Jacoba Bruneel 330b; Josh Lant 36t; Laurie Skelton 312b; Judy Whiting 208; Eimear O’Donovan 521; David Garman 430; Helen Brown 345b.

Vicki Elliot and Eimear O’Donovan led 347 as the closing song.

Chairman—Vicki Elliot; Secretary—Emily Verrier