Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary

Fort Worth, Texas

January 31, 1998

The fourteenth annual Sacred Harp Singing was held in Cowden Hall at Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, Fort Worth, Texas. This is the seventh year that “The Sacred Harp, 1991 Revision” has been used, and it was an excellent singing with 145 (t? b?) in attendance.

The morning session was called to order by Dr. David Music leading song on page 59. The morning prayer was led by William J. Reynolds. After a cordial welcome to all singers and opening comments, Dr. David Music recognized Dr. Timothy Studstill as Chairman of the Arranging Committee and Mrs. Mariah Humphries as Secretary.

The following leaders were called: Bruce Coates 34b; Barbara Moore 171; William J. Reynolds 128; H. P. O’Mary 335; Reed Coates 129; Cliff Hackler 40; Byron Talbot 159; Tim Reynolds 117; Leon Ballinger 490; Myra Palmer 436; Gaylon Powell 536; John Morris 163 (t? b?); Avon Miller 380; Sarah Coates 306; Myrl Jones 142; Father Ronald Baker 148; Mary Bachmann 99; Robert Vaughn 35; Beverly Coates 479.


Dr. David Music opened the second assembly by leading song on page 63. Leaders: Tim Reynolds 178; William J. Reynolds 45 (t? b?); Baron Powers 85; Esther Huckaby 106; Gary Rogan 276; Ryan Ross 406; Michelle Rogan 236; Barbara Moore 160b; Josh Rogan 112; Gaylon Powell 365; Beverly Coates 480; Leon Ballinger 498; H. P. O’Mary 47 (t? b?); Bruce Coates 569b; Byron Talbot 312b; Tim Studstill 72b; Myra Palmer 208; Reed Coates 523. William Love concluded this session with prayer.


The afternoon session was opened by Dr. David Music leading song on page 36b. Leaders: Tim Studstill 72b; Avon Miller 362; Mary Bachmann 163b; John Morris 30b; Sarah Coates 448 (t? b?); Father Ronald Baker 108 (t? b?); Myrl Jones 189; Robert Vaughn 535b; Tim Reynolds 200; Baron Powers 268; Esther Huckaby 64; Ryan Ross 217; William J. Reynolds 49b; Barbara Moore 58; Gaylon Powell 216; Beverly Coates 475; H. P. O’Mary 235b; Bruce Coates 566; Myra Palmer 318; Reed Coates 127; Leon Ballinger 384.

David Music presented announcements. The 1999 Sacred Harp Singing at Southwestern Seminary was announced for January 30, 1999.

Leaders: Gaylon Powell 254; Barbara Moore 171; Tim Reynolds 53; Leon Ballinger 454; John Morris 460; Reed Coates 143; Myrl Jones 218; Byron Talbot 159.

Dr. David Music led 354b as the closing song and closed the session with prayer.

Chairman—Dr. David Music; Secretary—Mrs. Mariah Humphries.