Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

June Singing

Alpharetta Municipal Building, Alpharetta, Georgia

Sunday, June 10, 2018

The 150th annual session of the June Singing was held on the second Sunday in June at the Alpharetta Municipal Building. Faye Holbrook called the class to order leading 49t. John Plunkett offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Faye Holbrook 67; Mike Castleberry 480, 515; Helen Bryson 70t, 542; John Plunkett 74b (remembering Lloyd Garrison), 343 (remembering Violet Thomason); Malinda Snow 28b, 481; Zack Silva 49b; Janice Paulk 448b, 136; David Smead 39b, 108t; Celeste Silva 277; Samuel Williams 260, 271b; Winfred Kerr 335, 517.


Faye Holbrook called the class to order leading 455. Leaders: Lisa Bennett 47b, 270; Caleb Silva 53; Rebecca Over 105, 541; Cathy Bonk 565; Judy Mincey 266, 271t; Tony Hammock 30b, 465; Nancy Novotny 345b, 375; Jerusha Wheeler 369, 195; Richard DeLong 224, 472.

Helen Bryson conducted the memorial lesson. She spoke of how the memorial lesson is an important part of the Sacred Harp tradition and the legacy left to us from past singers. She led 482 for the deceased and sick and shut-ins. Those deceased remembered are Ola Deason Meadows—Alabama; Wawena Entrekin Miles, Louise Holland, Audrey Ruth Garner, Melba Castleberry, and G.C. Redding—Georgia. Those sick and shut-ins remember are Jack Paulk, Charlene Wallace, and Colin Neel. John Plunkett closed the lesson with prayer.

A business session was conducted. The class voted to keep the same officers as follows: Chairman—Faye Holbrook; Vice Chairman—Mike Castleberry; Secretary—Helen Bryson.


Faye Holbrook called the class to order leading 380. Leaders: Daniel Williams 502, 74t; Lena Silva 76t, 196; Oscar McGuire 163b, 548; Milly Silva 282, 45t; Debora Grosse 494, 189; Lori Silva and Lisa Bennett 114, 115; Mike Castleberry 512; Cathy Bonk 63; Samuel Williams 334; Nancy Novotny 511; Helen Bryson 176t; Winfred Kerr 36b; Malinda Snow 556; Janice Paulk 384.


Faye Holbrook called the class to order leading 376. Leaders: Rebecca Over 434; Tony Hammock 112; Judy Mincey 36t; Zack Silva 175; David Smead 390; Jerusha Wheeler 59; Richard DeLong 39t; Celeste Silva 47t; Daniel Williams 416; Caleb Silva 65; Debora Grosse 312b; Lena Silva 65.

Announcements were made. Faye Holbrook and Mike Castleberry led 62 as closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Mike Castleberry.

Chairman—Faye Holbrook; Vice Chairman—Mike Castleberry; Secretary—Helen Bryson