Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Edwardsville Baptist Church

Edwardsville, Cleburne County, Alabama

Sunday, April 1, 2018

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Edwardsville Baptist Church, Edwardsville, Cleburne County, Alabama, was held on the first Sunday in April. Cecil Roberts called the class to order leading 32t. He then welcomed everyone to the Easter Sunday singing, and Robert Chambless offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Cecil Roberts 37b; Henry Johnson 138b, 52b; Donna Bell 480 (in memory of her daddy, George Garner) 120; Judy Chambless 410t; Winfred Kerr 59, 89; Glenda Collins and Bert Collins 81t, 340; Sherrell Cleino 127, 335; Dalton Lewis 77t, 354b; Taylor Watkins 345b, 445; Jack Nelson 345t, 408 (for Judy Chambless); Isaac Green 279, 242; Virginia Dyer 365, 546.


The class was called back to order by Henry Johnson leading 206. Leaders: David Smead 451, 415; April Watkins 53, 235; Jerusha Wheeler 299, 551; Robert Chambless 369, 72b; Rene Greene 300, 183; David Brodeur 164, 230; Nathan Rees 104, 44; Bobby Watkins 406; Bobby Watkins and April Watkins 155.


Judy Chambless brought the class back to order by leading 39t. Leaders: Lisa Bennett 532 (in memory of Janelle Davis), 228 (in memory of Steve Helwig); Daniel Williams 354t, 160b; Oscar McGuire 276, 515; Samuel Williams 322, 536; Andy Ditzler 491, 477; Richard DeLong 57, 465; Esther Williams 123b, 101b; Henry Johnson 289.

A business session was held with the following officers retained or appointed to serve: Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—Henry Johnson; Secretary—Donna Bell; Arranging Officer—Judy Chambless.

Leaders: Fallon Cook 274t, 146; Rene Greene 556 (in memory of her daddy, Jeff Sheppard); Jerusha Wheeler 147b; Lisa Bennett 318; Taylor Watkins 282. Rev. Chris Johnson, pastor of the church, offered the blessing of the noon meal.


The class resumed singing with Cecil Roberts leading 512. Cecil asked the class to stand and observe a moment of silence in memory of William Stanly Edwards. Stanly was chairman of this singing for many years and a staunch supporter of its continuation. Leaders: Andy Ditzler 397; Cain Cook and Fallon Cook 186; Chance Cook 192; Richard DeLong 418; April Watkins 82t; Glenda Collins and Barbara Brooks 339 (in memory of Louise Holland); Robert Chambless 384; Bobby Watkins 460; David Smead 156; Winfred Kerr 324; Jack Nelson 479; David Brodeur 438; Sherrell Cleino 452 (in memory of her uncle, Billy Joe Harris); Daniel Williams 34t; Oscar McGuire 34b; Samuel Williams 163t; Isaac Green and Fallon Cook 434; Esther Williams 399t; Fallon Cook 47b.

Announcements were made. Cecil Roberts, Henry Johnson, Donna Bell, and Judy Chambless led 163b as the closing song. Henry Johnson offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—Henry Johnson; Secretary—Donna Bell