Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Vermont Sacred Harp Singing

Socialist Labor Party Hall, Barre, Vermont

Saturday, March 24, 2018

The 38th annual Vermont All-Day Sacred Harp Singing was called to order by Dan Coppock leading 31t. The opening prayer was offered by Sarah Wolfe.

Leaders: Anya Skibbie 59; Judy Contompasis 47t; Chris Bracken 171; Ian Smiley 72b; Anna Mays 144; Peggy Kadima-Mazela 146; Dan Hertzler 111b; Carole Dempsey 101t; Sue Dwelle 122; Sinead O’Mahoney 299; Jonathan Spencer 431; Margaret Graver 76b; Mark Williams 269; Laura Barber 147t; Larry Gordon 455; Debby Moody 229; Jenny Wright 315; Chelsea Smiley 148.


Judy Contompasis brought the class back to order leading 87. Leaders: Jonas Powell 410t; Rachel Rudi 283; Isabelle Gervais Chapman 143; Paul Gauthier 39t; Rachel Taylor 209; Dan Coppock 68b; Justin Squizzero 214; Sara Sandberg 313t; Mel Novner 276; Nic Tuff 33b; Em Ekelund 505; Eric Sandberg 480; Margaret Youngberg 151; Ian Ludders 110; MB Gowins 371; Kerry Cullinan 507; Mary Skidmore 442.


Ian Smiley called the class back to order leading 159. Leaders: Philippe Doyle Gosselin 203; Joanne Fuller 500; Crispin Youngberg 556; Andal Sundaramurthy 524; Ron Trial 168.

Dan Herztler led 460 for the following sick and shut-ins: Rick Walsh, Mark Dowling, Faiz Wareh, David McUmber, Pauline Burgdorf, Jane Able, Linda Crockham, Keith Brown, Pat Maisson, Nancy Hassel, Wanda Poulin, John Block, Rebecca Shepherd, and Tom Wells.

Dan Herztler also conducted the memorial lesson, and led 285t in memory of the following deceased: Gravis Ballinger, Susie Denson, Floy Wilder, Daphene Causey, and Eloise Wootten—Alabama; Emma De Boncoeur—California; Delorese Lee and Hugh McGraw—Georgia; Darrell Swarens—Indiana; Nicholas Cameron—Ontario; Richard Graver—Kentucky; Iris Gomes—Massachusetts; Ruth Houme—Massachusetts and Vermont; Charles Wells—Minnesota; Herbert Eriksson—New York; Bill Houger—Ohio; Steve Helwig—Oregon; Jane Goforth and Edith Owen—Texas; Hedi Ballantyne, Chet Cole, Jerimiah Crompton, Peter Diamondstone, Paul Hood, and Tom Lever—Vermont.

Leaders: Mike Richards 134; Heather Harrison 178; Claire Hogan 445; Jennie Brown 475. Sarah Wolfe offered grace before the noon meal.


Dan Coppock called the class back to order leading 180. Leaders: MB Gowins 436; Jean Seiler 273; Bill Holt 218; Isabelle Gervais Chapman 198; William Schuller 163t; Mary Skidmore 250; Elizabeth Stoddard 546; Mel Novner 196; Carole Dempsey 270; Chris Holley 448t; Em Ekelund 106; Debby Moody 189; Rachel Taylor 266; Will Harron 63; Philippe Doyle Gosselin 227; Becca Mandel 504; Jamie Ross 313b; Justin Squizzero 447; Claire Hogan 79; Ian Ludders 564; Ruth Dorfler 65; Joan Powell 142; L.H. Spencer 260.


Anya Skibbie and Chris Bracken called the class back to order leading 228. Leaders: Crispin Youngberg 513; Joanne Fuller 73t; Ron Trial 474; Sue Dwelle 503; Mike Richards 377; Nic Tuff 95; Margaret Graver 400; Jenny Wright 245; Larry Gordon 528; Jennie Brown 187; Anna Mays and Peggy Kadima-Mazela 384; Jean Seiler 217; Paul Gauthier and the Norwich crew 362; Becca Mandel and Mel Novner 421; Bill Holt 430; Jonathan Spencer and L.H. Spencer 102; Chelsea Smiley 42; Jamie Ross 535; Elizabeth Stoddard and Chris Holley 165; Ruth Dorfler 38b; Rachel Rudi 425.

In a business meeting, the Treasurer reported that expenses were met. The Secretary reported that there were one-hundred twelve singers from seven states and one Canadian province, and that fifty-four leaders led ninety-five songs. It was announced that the 2019 Vermont All-Day Singing will be held on Saturday before the fifth Sunday in March at the Irasburg Town Hall in Irasburg, Vermont. It was noted this is a departure from the usual schedule.

Dan Coppock led 62 as the closing song. Sarah Wolfe offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Dan Coppock; Secretary—Chris Bracken