Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

North Carolina Sacred Harp Singing

Pullen Memorial Baptist Chapel, Raleigh, North Carolina

March 3-4, 2018

Saturday, March 3

The first day of the North Carolina All-Day Sacred Harp Singing took place at Pullen Memorial Baptist Chapel, Raleigh, North Carolina, on Saturday before the first Sunday in March. Kyle Johnston called the class to order leading 49t.

The following officers were elected: Chairpersons—Elaine Denny and Dave Mark; Treasurer—Rick Motylinski; Secretary—Derek Lane.

Leaders: Elaine Denny 171; Derek Lane 122; Marlen Ruegg 496; Rick Motylinski 569b; Lisa Brown 48t; John Feddersen 456; Deborah Brogden 178; David Wilson 276; Lydia Lewallen 373; Les Updike 515; Kathy Kaiser 131t; Skeet Surrency 472; Lynda Hambourger 328; Cleve Callison 236; Ben Shirley 148; Erin Newton 573.


Lisa Brown called the class back to order leading 455. Leaders: Pamela Minor 66; Chris Wolf 89; Suzanne Newton 299; B.J. Warshaw and Rick Motilynski 99; Matt Drumheller 383; Nora Miller 33b; Patrick Friesen 204; Matt Winter 210; Michelle Newton Dohse 128; Rick Motylinski 277; Kelly Macklin 174; Brandon Goins and Lydia Lewallen 282; John delRe 263; David Wilson 163b; Kyle Johnston 480; Derek Lane 31t; Kathy Kaiser 270.


Patrick Friesen called the class back to order leading 179. Leaders: Matt Drumheller 448t; Chris Wolf 229; Ben Shirley 113; Miriam Delirium 29b; Ron Craig 117; Henry Vroman and Lydia Lewallen 419; John Feddersen 528; Michelle Newton Dohse 47b; Patrick Friesen 318; Cleve Callison 198; Diana Campurano and Elyse Smith 378b; Matt Winter 38b; Suzanne Newton 163t; Nora Miller 500; Tim Weigand and Lydia Lewallen 170; Nancy Newell 155.


Joan Robertson called the class back to order leading 344. Leaders: Jamie Latimer and Tim Smith 268; Rachel Mann 457.

Deborah Brogden conducted the lesson to remember the following sick and shut-ins: Fritz Dohze, Ana Jo Rising, Dave Banford, Debbie Lewallen, and Caren Conrad. Deborah Brogden led 125.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Deborah Brogden to remember the following deceased: Janelle Davis and Les Sontag—Illinois; John Bayer, Jr.—Ohio; Ben Smith—Florida; Bob McBride, Premis Page, and Blackwell Brogden—North Carolina; Stephanie Wolf—Maryland; Lucille Gunnels, Edna Vickers, Ed Smith, Lois Speaker, B. M. Smith, and Earlis McGraw—Georgia; Chris Chaklux—Virginia. Lynda Hambourger led 547.

Leaders: Erin Newton 36t; Olivia Prevost and Chris Wolf 82t; John delRe 83t; Kelsea and Kelly Macklin 330b; Pamela Minor 30t; Les Updike 313b; Janice Lautier and Lisa Brown 159; Marlen Ruegg and Elaine Denny 196; Kelly Macklin 485; Skeet Surrency 183; Kyle Johnston 61.


Nora Miller called the class back to order leading 29t. Leaders: Elaine Denny 212; Rachel Mann 312b; Brandon Goins and Derek Lane 45t; Miriam Delirium 271t; Patrick Friesen and Lydia Lewallen 390; Chris Wolf 47t; John delRe and Kelly Macklin 354t; Jamie Latimer 254; Nora Miller 176t.

Sunday, March 4

The Sunday singing was held at the Murphey School in Durham. Sharon Strong led a prayer. Elaine Denny called the class to order leading 1b (ShH). Leaders: John Feddersen 149 (ShH); Lydia Lewallen 18t (ShH); John delRe 18b (ShH); Kyle Johnston 41 (ShH); Kelly Macklin 8 (ShH); Derek Lane 1t (ShH); Leslie Booher 140b (ShH); Les Updike 124 (ShH); Marlen Ruegg 80 (ShH); Skeet Surrency 216 (ShH); David Stowe 57 (ShH); Chris Wolf 420t (ShH); Lynda Hambourger 358 (ShH); Chris Wilhelm 60t (ShH).


Chris Wolf called the class back to order leading 43t (ShH). Leaders: Patrick Friesen 348t (ShH); Ben Fink 37 (ShH); Lisa Brown 263 (ShH); Erin Newton 286 (ShH); Rick Motylinski 5t (ShH); Kathy Kaiser 242 (ShH); Les Updike 296 (ShH); Kelly Macklin 416 (ShH); Lydia Lewallen 90 (ShH); Marlen Ruegg 46 (ShH); John delRe 9b (ShH); Derek Lane 264b (ShH); David Stowe 384 (ShH); Skeet Surrency 253 (ShH); Chris Wilhelm 183 (ShH); Lynda Hambourger 254 (ShH); Leslie Booher 200 (ShH); John Feddersen 201 (ShH); Kyle Johnston 3b (ShH); Nora Miller 420b (ShH); Elaine Denny 311 (ShH).


John delRe called the class back to order leading 100 (ShH). Leaders: Ben Fink 260b (ShH); Xaris Martinez 403 (ShH); Nora Miller 87 (ShH); Erin Newton 268 (ShH); Miriam Delirium and Lydia Lewallen 204 (ShH); Patrick Friesen 24b (ShH); Leslie Booher 313 (ShH); Marlen Ruegg 108 (ShH); Kelly Macklin 350 (ShH); Derek Lane 167 (ShH); Chris Wilhelm 193 (ShH); Skeet Surrency 180 (ShH); Les Updike 157 (ShH); John Feddersen 68 (ShH); Lynda Hambourger 243 (ShH); Elaine Denny 218b (ShH); Kyle Johnston 113 (ShH); Lydia Lewallen 247 (ShH); Chris Wolf 266 (ShH).


Nora Miller called the class back to order leading 17 (ShH). Leaders: Kathy Kaiser 12b (ShH); Xaris Martinez 260t (ShH); Jamie Latimer 173 (ShH); Miriam Delirium and Kelly Macklin 381 (ShH); Kelly Macklin 380 (ShH); Les Updike 81 (ShH); Erin Newton 186 (ShH); Chris Wolf 236t (ShH); Patrick Friesen 218t (ShH); Elaine Denny 297 (ShH); Ben Fink 431 (ShH); Lynda Hambourger 245 (ShH); John delRe 137 (ShH); Skeet Surrency 326b (ShH); John Feddersen 368 (ShH); Lydia Lewallen 270 (ShH); Derek Lane 429 (ShH); Kyle Johnston 54 (ShH); Elaine Denny and David Gardner 234 (ShH).

Chairpersons—Elaine Denny and Dave Mark; Secretary—Derek Lane