Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Thanksgiving Sacred Harp Singing

Jordans Village Hall, Jordans, Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom

Saturday, November 25, 2017

The 9th Thanksgiving Singing Day was held in the Village Hall of Jordans, the Quaker Village, and burial place of William Penn. The class was called to order by Sheila Girling Macadam leading 34b. Edwin Macadam offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Edwin Macadam 52t; Brenda Harvey 49t; Werner Ullah 49b; Rachel Jordan 63; Nick Hall 317; Jan Lawrence 82t; Aldo Ceresa 83t; Elspeth Hannen 504; Nigel Bowley 52b; Sarah West 376; Steve Brett 394; Steve Fletcher 99; Toby Goss 107; Kate Kirwan 128; Derek Buckland 479; Teresa Maguire 56b; George Simms 66; Machna Nowak 300; Pete Eiseman-Renyard 84; Jacoba Bruneel 42; Victoria Timberlake 277; Werner Ullah 73b; Sheila Girling Macadam 377; Aldo Ceresa 145t.

The following officers and committee members served for the day: Chairman—Sheila Girling Macadam; Vice Chairman and Treasurer—Edwin Macadam; Secretary—Sofi Mogensen; Pitchers—Rachel Jordan, Aldo Ceresa and Steve Brett; Arranging Committee—Werner Ullah; Chaplains—Edwin Macadam, Aldo Ceresa, Andrew Clark, and Julie Fox.


The class resumed singing with Sarah West leading 73t. Leaders: Nigel Bowley 458; Brenda Harvey 29t; Arthur Swindells 344; Rachel Jordan 353; Derek Buckland 448b; Teresa Maguire 440; Victoria Timberlake 100; Steve Brett 116; Jan Lawrence 461; Toby Goss 287; Jacoba Bruneel 480; Nick Hall 410t.

Aldo Ceresa conducted a combined memorial and sick and housebound lesson, prefacing the lesson with a brief history of Thanksgiving. He led 34t for the following sick and housebound: Geoffrey Rendle, Melanie Thaw, Jean Mitchell, Paula Mogensen, Keith Mendes, David Chantler, Vonnie Chantler, Anne MacIntyre, Kate Hockley, Steve Welch, and Mary Welch.

Aldo led 475 in memory of the following: Tom Paley, Jackie Saunders, Kathleen Evelyn Rowell, Frank Pigott, Cemlyn Jones, Bill Cashmore, Chris Bowness, John Featherstone, and Major Michael Keith Hilier O’Kelly—UK; Antonia Stampfel and Hugh McGraw—USA; Mark Girling—Spain; and Jennifer Bennett—Canada. Andrew Clark closed the memorial service with prayer.

Leaders: Andrew Clark 68b; Edwin Macadam 538; Steve Fletcher 196; Pete Eiseman-Renyard 186; Machna Nowak 535; George Simms 70t; Kate Kirwan 517; Derek Buckland 59; Victoria Timberlake 275t; Brenda Harvey 159; Pete Eiseman-Renyard 117; Jan Lawrence 314. Julie Fox offered thanks for the midday meal.


The afternoon session commenced with Arthur Swindells leading 189. Leaders: Steve Brett 530; Rachel Jordan 500; Andrew Clark 162; Sheila Girling Macadam 114; Nick Hall 455; Sarah West 454; Edwin Macadam 236; Steve Fletcher 192; Kate Kirwan 411; Nigel Bowley 123b; Toby Goss 313b; Aldo Ceresa 548; Teresa Maguire 383; Andrew Clark 270; Jacoba Bruneel 168; George Simms 350; Arthur Swindells 456; Machna Nowak 224; Amy Cutts 133.


The class was reconvened for the final session by Kate Kirwan leading 75. Leaders: Werner Ullah 278t; Victoria Timberlake 48t; Derek Buckland 335; Sarah West 124; Brenda Harvey 47t; Steve Brett 160b; Steve Fletcher 268; Andrew Clark 163b; Jan Lawrence 318; Arthur Swindells 327; Amy Cutts 481; Toby Goss 547; George Simms 36b; Rachel Jordan 373; Nigel Bowley 565; Teresa Maguire 512; Nick Hall 183; Jacoba Bruneel 348t; Andrew Clark 141.

Thanks were given to all those who had helped in any way to make the day’s singing a success. Announcements were made. The Secretary reported 21 leaders had led 93 songs. After expenses had been met, the surplus from the day’s donations would again be passed to the Quakers for their use.

Sheila Girling Macadam and Edwin Macadam led 347 as the closing song. Andrew Clark offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Sheila Girling Macadam; Vice Chairman—Edwin Macadam; Secretary—Sofi Mogensen