Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church Singing

Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church, Morgan County, Alabama

Saturday, September 23, 2017

The annual Sacred Harp singing held at Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church on Saturday before the fourth Sunday in September was called to order by Nicholas Thompson leading 31b. The opening prayer was offered by Elder J.L. Hopper.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Nicholas Thompson; Vice Chairman—Daniel Hopper; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Arranging Officer—Nicholas Thompson.

Leaders: Judy Caudle 97; Isaac Green 56t (for Betty Shepherd); Linda Booth 31t; Delone Cobbs 354t; Winfred Kerr 500 (for Rebecca Over and in memory of Hugh McGraw); Lisa Geist 120; Daniel Lee 411; Judy Chambless 501; Nancy Thompson 123t; Theresa Westmoreland 470; Angela Myers 325; Ed Thacker 565; Daniel Hopper 98; Beth Anne Clay 106; Bea Aaron 475; Darrell Swarens 36b; Emily Stutzman 59; Earl Ballinger 208; Cheyenne Ivey 182; Cindy Mann 354b; Lauren Allen 323b.


Nicholas Thompson led 170 to bring the class back together. Leaders: Justin Bowen 189; Loyd Ivey 89; Susan Cherones 349; Robert Chambless 163b; Larry Ballinger 119; Bridgett Hill Kennedy 454; Darlene Reynolds 145t; Jim Aaron 47b; Brittany Thompson 112; Bentley Rose 282; Brandon Thompson 340; Hazel Heinze 45t; J.L. Hopper 348t; Lomax Ballinger 53. Elder J.L. Hopper asked a blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Daniel Hopper leading 301. Leaders: Susan Allred 76b; Elene Stovall 440; Lilly Underwood and Loyd Ivey 424; Nancy Novotny 328; Oscar McGuire 485; Skylar Thompson and Nicholas Thompson 61; Tom Booth 523; Eugene Forbes 155; Milford Cobbs 405; Nancy Phillips 146; Nicholas Thompson and Randy Robbins 63; Nancy Novotny 290; Darrell Swarens and Linda Booth 198; Emily Stutzman 49b; Robert Chambless and Judy Chambless 77b (for Charlene Wallace); Darlene Reynolds and Bentley Rose 569b; Justin Bowen and Beth Anne Clay 546; Larry Ballinger, Lisa Geist, and Earl Ballinger 528; Loyd Ivey and Lilly Underwood 318 (in memory of Eloise Wootten); Oscar McGuire 229; Isaac Green, Lauren Allen, and Nicholas Thompson 192 (for Christie Allen); Judy Caudle 419 (by request for Ozella Blackmon), 276 (for Glenda Hopper and Margaret Keeton); J.L. Hopper 149 (by request).

Announcements were made. Nicholas Thompson and J.L. Hopper led 62 as the closing song. Elder Daniel Hopper offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Nicholas Thompson; Vice Chairman—Daniel Hopper; Secretary—Judy Caudle