Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cornelius Benjamin Keeton and Travis Keeton Memorial Singing

Shady Grove (Keeton Cemetery), Walker County, Alabama

Sunday, September 17, 2017

The 46th annual Keeton Memorial Sacred Harp Singing was held on the third Sunday in September. Glenn Keeton called the class to order, and welcomed everyone. He led 59. The opening prayer was offered by Richard Mauldin.

The class was organized by electing or appointing the following officers: Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Secretary and Arranging Officer—Lena Keeton.

Leaders: Glenn Keeton 77t (for Ozella Blackmon, who is in hospital); Cheyenne Ivey 432, 430; Earl Ballinger 426t, 402; Betty Baccus 76b, 387; Buell Cobb 410b, 271t; Larry Ballinger 270, 282; Marlin Beasley 406, 40; Henry Guthery 420, 140 (for Velton Chafin and Ozella Blackmon); Roma Rice 104, 460 (in memory of her mother and father); Joshua Keeton 111b; Joshua Keeton and Glenn Keeton 108t; Joshua Keeton, Glenn Keeton, and Lena Keeton 30b; Lena Keeton 475; Julia Poston 108b, 166.


Glenn Keeton led 334 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Chris Ballinger 477, 512; Isaac Green and Buell Cobb 69b; Isaac Green 419 (for Ozella Blackmon); Linda Booth 148, 137; Mike Hankins 299, 168 (in memory of Gravis Ballinger); Richard Mauldin 43, 551; Sarah Beasley 354b, 100; Amber Davis 328; Amber Davis and Nicholas Thompson 192 (for Ozella Blackmon); Lisa Geist 228, 269; Tom Booth 131b, 31b; Becky Briggs 179, 373 (in memory of her uncle, Bennie Keeton); Nicholas Thompson 216; Nicholas Thompson and Lisa Geist 304; Glenn Keeton 159 (for Bernice Wakefield). Tom Booth asked a blessing before the noon meal.


Glenn Keeton and Donna Hopson brought the class back together leading 300. Leaders: Margaret Keeton 403, 213t; Jack Pate 503, 335; Nancy Phillips 146, 117; Juanita Beasley and Marlin Beasley 61, 63; Seth Holloway 274t, 236; Alvin (Bunk) Beasley and Linda Beasley 72b, 81t; Joey Clingan and Gwen Cornelius 341, 421; Henry Guthery 431, 527, 464 (CB); Freddie Briggs 388, 235; Isaac Green, Nicholas Thompson, and Cheyenne Ivey 215; Loretta Whitman 82t, 78; Cheyenne Ivey, Nicholas Thompson, and Isaac Green 542; Glenn Keeton and Lisa Geist “Joshua”, “Ashley”; Glenn Keeton 454 (for Willodean Barton).

Announcements were made. Glenn Keeton led 267 as the closing song. Marlin Beasley offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Secretary—Lena Keeton