Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Illinois State Sacred Harp Convention

Texas Christian Church, Clinton, Illinois

Saturday, September 16, 2017

The 33rd annual Illinois Sacred Harp Convention was called to order by Ryan Hill leading 84. The opening prayer was offered by Texas Christian Church pastor, Scott Marsh. The following officers were previously elected: Chairman—Ryan Hill; Secretary—Martha Tyner; Treasurer—Mark Graber; Arranging Committee—Janet Fraembs and Martha Tyner; Chaplain—Mark Graber.

Leaders: Lori Graber 155; Darrell Swarens 36b; Mary Huffman 34b; Jim Helke 177 (MH); Ginny Landgraf 98 (MH); John Wiens and Barry Pidcock 332; John Huffman 528; Don Bardsley 56t; James Page 139 (MH); Stephen Huffman 32t; Carole Briggs 112; Barrett Patton 426b; Jan Ketelle 135; Ted Mercer 192; Judy Hauff 434; Jonathon Smith 228; Sasha Maslanka 157; Darrell Swarens 198; Alvaro Witt Duarte 272; Penny Kujawinski 440.


Terry Hogg called the class back to order by leading 523. Leaders: Lou Kujawinski 477; Presley Barker 362; Paul Figura “St. Louis”; Barbara Chopin 474; Dave Ressler 428; Shirley Figura 299; Mary Huffman 391; Jim Helke 45 (MH); Ginny Landgraf 50 (MH); John Wiens 383; Karen Isbell 68 (MH); John Huffman 492; Don Bardsley 429; Carole Briggs 334; Stephen Huffman 365; James Page 84 (MH); Ted Mercer 148 (MH); Barrett Patton 222; Jan Ketelle 549; Judy Hauff 171 (MH); Jonathon Smith 142; Sasha Maslanka 107; Alvaro Witt Duarte 13 (MH); Martha Tyner 147t; Lou Kujawinski 131t. As grace before lunch, Ryan Hill led 164 (MH), followed by spoken grace offered by Mark Graber.


Ginny Landgraf called the class back to order by leading 148. Leaders: Presley Barker 89 (MH); Dave Ressler 138 (MH); Mary Huffman 37b; Penny Kujawinski 377; Jim Helke and Darrell Swarens 507; Terry Hogg 27 (MH); Paul Figura “Webster Groves”; Barbara Chopin 180 (MH); John Wiens 153; Karen Isbell 335; John Huffman 446; Shirley Figura 318 (for Eloise Webster); James Page 67 (MH); Lori Graber 180.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Mark Graber, who reminded us to reach out to those we know on the sick and shut-in list not only to think of them now but to offer our support at other times. Darrell Swarens read the following names of the sick and shut-ins: Berkley Moore, Melanie Hauff, Peggy Brayfield, Daniel Slabaugh, Karen Hojnacki, Doris Steinmetz, Julie Vea, and Johanna Fabke. Mark then encouraged us to remember not only those who are no longer alive, but those who are missing from our singing today for other reasons, and to look forward to singing with them all again one day. Dave Ressler read the following names of the deceased: Mary Jean McGuire, Dixie McGregor, and Les Sontag—Illinois; Eloise Wootten—Alabama; Johnny Lee, Delorese Lee, and Hugh McGraw—Georgia; Collette Miller—Minnesota; Edith Owen—Texas; Darrell Fasching, Richard Scheney, and John Bayer. Ryan Hill led 146. The lesson closed with prayer offered by Mark Graber.


Ryan Hill called the class to order for the final session of the day leading 338. Leaders: Janet Fraembs 532; Ginny Landgraf 442; Stephen Huffman 448t; Ted Mercer 61 (MH); Judy Hauff 411, 384; Jan Ketelle 430; Alvaro Witt Duarte 542; Barrett Patton 368; Carole Briggs 87; Sasha Maslanka 77t; Lou Kujawinski 300.

The Chairman thanked all who contributed to the success of the day, in particular the Texas Christian Church and Pastor Marsh, all who brought food, and the various committees and officers for their service. The Treasurer reported that all expenses had been met.

Following announcements, the class sang 347 while taking the parting hand. John Huffman offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Ryan Hill; Secretary—Martha Tyner