Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Mississippi State Convention

Antioch Primitive Baptist Church, Forest, Mississippi

August 26-27, 2017

Saturday, August 26

The 88th session of the Mississippi State Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order by Mark Davis leading 36b. Arlon Gardner offered the opening prayer. Mark Davis welcomed everyone, and thanked Alfred Bailey and Antioch Primitive Baptist Church for hosting the convention.

Leaders: Mark Davis 209; Nathan Stewart 110, 203; Darlene Reynolds 484 (CB), 188 (CH); Arlon Gardner 278t, 481; Dennis Cranford 129, 107; Jane Armstrong 84, 314; Sister Susan Dickey 507b (CB), 383 (CH); Regina Derstine and Todd Derstine 390, 35; Jimira Jackson 168, 455; Will McGuire 181, 338.


Mark Davis called the class back to order leading 340. Leaders: Amy Wells 212, 546; Amber Davis 300, 440; Warren Steel 203 (CH), 442; Hugh McGuire 196 (for John Hollingsworth), 201; Nicholas Thompson 439, 336; Henry McGuire 64 (CH), 168b (CH); Mike McNeil and Cheryl McElhenney 204t (CH), 117 (CH); Lisa Geist 273, 528; Chris Nicholson 34b, 473. Drew McGuire offered the prayer to bless the food.


Mark Davis appointed Hugh McGuire, Drew McGuire, and Henry McGuire to the Business and Credentials Committee, and named Jane Armstrong and Amy Wells to serve as the Memorial Committee.

Leaders: Nathan Stewart 222; Drew McGuire 327, 216; Bentley Rose 354b, 282; Cheryl McElhenney and Mike McNeil 145b, 172 (CH); Nicholas Thompson 404; Henry McGuire and Hugh McGuire 511 (WB); Arlon Gardner 372 (CH); Amy Wells 411; Lisa Geist 269; Drew McGuire 515 (CB); Warren Steel 379; Sister Susan Dickie 392 (CB); Regina Derstine 57; Mike McNeil 522 (CB); Chris Nicholson 264t (CB); Jane Armstrong 72b.

A business meeting was held to elect the following officers. President—Mark Davis; Vice President—John Van Horn; Secretary—Darlene Reynolds; Chaplain—Arlon Gardner.

Leaders: Mark Davis 240; Jimira Jackson 109 (CH); Darlene Reynolds and Nicholas Thompson 131 (CH); Cheryl McNeil and Mike McNeil 143 (CB); Bobby Caldwell and Mark Davis 82 (CB); Arlon Gardner 159 (CB).

Announcements were made. Hugh McGuire, Henry McGuire, and Mark Davis led the Drone as the closing song. Arlon Gardner offered prayer to dismiss the class.

Sunday, August 27

The Sunday session of the Mississippi State Convention was called to order by Mark Davis welcoming everyone back. Mark led 74b and 432. Arlon Gardner offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Darlene Reynolds and Nicholas Thompson 480, 176t; Arlon Gardner 313b, 454; Regina Derstine and Todd Derstine 58, 123b; Jane Armstrong 452, 361; Nicholas Thompson 217, 542; Chris Nicholson 558 (CB), 95t (CB); Hugh McGuire 111b (CH), 155; Amber Davis 187, 391.


Mark Davis brought the class back together by leading 97. Leaders: Drew McGuire 281b (CH), 486; Natalie Davis 572 (CB), 273; Will McGuire 188 (CH), 281t (CH); Amy Wells 222, 112; Regina Derstine 267, 193 (CH).


Mark Davis led 448b. Leaders: Henry McGuire 567 (CB), 515 (CB); Lisa Geist 228, 527; Chris Nicholson 96 (CB), 95b (CB); Nicholas Thompson 137 (CB), 540 (CB); Stephen McLeod and Anne McLeod 59, 131b. Drew McGuire asked a blessing before the noon meal.


Henry McGuire called the class back to order by leading 512. Leaders: Hugh McGuire 491t (WB), 448b (WB); Jane Armstrong and Carey Armstrong 500 (CB), 457; Amber Davis 430, 500; Amy Wells 215, 383.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Jane Armstrong and Amy Wells. The following sick and shut-ins were remembered: Eva Maynor, Velton Chafin, Ozella Blackmon, Betty Shepherd, Ester Mann, Alice McGuire, Roy Davis, John Van Horn, George Gardner, Catherine Gardner, Pace Guthrie, Helen Guthrie, Ms. Asa Putnum, and Curtis Owen. They led 540 (WB).

Jane and Amy led 285 (t? b?) in memory of the following deceased: Billie Margaret Gardner and Stites Gardner—Mississippi; Hugh McGraw and Johnny Lee—Georgia; Gravis Ballinger, Eloise Wootten, and Johnnie Chafin—Alabama; Edith Owen and Jane Goforth—Texas; Peewee Rogers.

In a business meeting, the Business and Credentials Committee gave the financial report. The collections and disbursements were itemized and approved. The business meeting was closed.

Leaders: Natalie Davis 200, 318; Drew McGuire 145t, 102: Arlon Gardner 67, 76b; Henry McGuire 10 (CH), 196 (WB); Regina Derstine, Anne McLeod, and Stephen McLeod 280 (CH), 81t (CH); Lisa Geist 472.

Announcements were made. Mark Davis, Henry McGuire, and Hugh McGuire led The Drone. The closing prayer was offered by Arlon Gardner.

President—Mark Davis; Vice President—John Van Horn; Secretary—Darlene Reynolds