Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Iowa Singing

St. John’s Lutheran Church, Des Moines, Iowa

Saturday, April 1, 2017

The 16th annual Iowa All-Day Singing was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Michael Moore leading 171. Sharla Hulsey offered the opening prayer. Leaders: Eric Saylor 178; Sharla Hulsey 34b; Seth Wenger 38b; Paul Landskroener 228; Anne Missavage 556; Virginia Landgraf 218; Jenny Solheim 352; Jim Helke 100.


Eleanor Haase called the class back to order leading 274t. Leaders: Megan Holm 282; Brad Sparks 117; Bruce Voyles 344; Amritpal Singh 457; Annie Grieshop 481; Donnie Simmet 229; Beth Ann Edwards 84; Jim Solheim 299; Rowen Sabala 47b; Anne Missavage, Brianna Dompkey, Sonia Benzmiller, and Emily Robinson 49t; Sarah Garey 47t.


Michael Moore called the class together leading 272. Leaders: Jim Helke, Sarah Garey, and Laurel Cramer 86.

Sharla Hulsey directed the memorial lesson. She read Mark 1:29-31, and the following list of names of the sick and shut-ins: Melanie Hauff, Barry Robertson, Paul Wilson, Ray Cott-Meissel, Jim Page, Carole Briggs, Ben Crawford, David Moore, Tom DeVries, Nancy DeVries, Donnie Phillips, and Karen Shull. She led 72b in their honor.

Sharla then read verses from 1 Thessalonians 4:13-14, and the following list of names of the deceased: Marvin Walden—California; Darrel Fasching—Florida; Johnny Lee and Delorese Lee—Georgia; Janelle Davis—Illinois; Colette Miller—Minnesota; Charlie Derleth—Missouri; Jon Pearson—Nebraska; John Bayer—Ohio; Merlin Hutchinson, Betty Olson Spicer, and Jason Lighthall—Iowa. She led 510, and closed the memorial service with prayer.

Leaders: Eric Saylor, Sarah Garey, and Reid Fredriksen 551; Annie Grieshop, Jessica Low, Naomi Weissberg, and Brooke Carter 503. Sharla Hulsey offered the prayer before dinner.


The class was called back to order by Paul Landskroener leading 87. Leaders: Megan Holm 89; Bruce Voyles 163b; Amanda Beachy 448b; Jenny Solheim “Pine”; Virginia Landgraf 162; Seth Wenger 49b; Brad Sparks 107; Eleanor Haase 122 (for Carole Briggs); Charlotte Baldwin and Virginia Landgraf 56b; Rowen Sabala and Sharla Hulsey 212; Donnie Simmet 101b; Sarah Garey and Eric Saylor 159; Paul Landskroener 266; Jim Solheim “Kyrkjebøbakken”; Amritpal Singh 112; Anne Missavage 217; Sharla Hulsey 188.


Eleanor Haase led 29t to bring the class together. Leaders: Laurel Cramer and Paul Landskroener 339; Bruce Voyles 236; Sloan Wheeldon and Jim Helke 361; Eric Saylor 168; Megan Guest and Virginia Landgraf 376; Michael Moore 203; Charlotte Baldwin 42; Donnie Simmet 324; Jim Solheim “I Dwell in Possibility”; Virginia Landgraf 447; Seth Wenger 155; Beth Ann Edwards 268; Jenny Solheim 500; Jim Helke 498; Megan Holm 82t; Paul Landskroener 300; Amritpal Singh 417; Anne Missavage 454; Brad Sparks 59; Sharla Hulsey 35; Michael Moore and Daniel Minnie 349.

Announcements were made. Annie Grieshop led 347 as the closing song. Sharla Hulsey offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed at 3:30 p.m.

Chairman—Michael Moore; Secretary—Annie Grieshop