Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Vermont Sacred Harp Singing

Unitarian Universalist Congregation of the Upper Valley,
Norwich, Vermont

Saturday, March 25, 2017

The 37th annual Vermont All-Day Sacred Harp Singing was called to order by Paul Gauthier leading 31t. Paul also said words of introduction and welcome. The opening prayer was offered by Margaret Graver.

Leaders: Carole Dempsey 131b; Anya Skibbie 171; Anna Mays 29t; Bill Schults 66; Margaret Graver 28t; Ian Smiley 121; Lynnette Combs 300; Scott Luscombe 472; Peggy Kadina-Mazela 106; Betsy Maislen 479; Chelsea Smiley 91; Kerry Cullinan 466; Jenny Wright 547; Sarah Maika 448b; Jonathan Spencer 324; Judy Contompasis 84; L.H. Spencer 250; Jessica Turner 345b; Ian Ludders 83b.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Co-Chairmen—Paul Gauthier and Dan Hertzler; Chaplain—Margaret Graver; Treasurer—Ian Ludders; Arranging Committee—Anna Mays and Anya Skibbie; Secretary—Carole Dempsey.


Chelsea Smiley called the class back to order leading 159. Leaders: Dan Coppock 227; Carly Goss 142; Jonas Powell 344; Sue Dwelle 503; Andal Sundaramurthy 444; Mike Richards 546; Liz Patton 234; Larry Gordon 528; Deborah Marsh and Donna Carlson 82t; Stina Soderling 328; Elizabeth Stoddard 422; Susan Jaster 540; Ron Trial 101t; Liz Cantrell 217; Michael Nord 298; Ishmael Stefanov-Wagner 538; Mary Skidmore 432; Patrick Friesen 460; Tristan Gordon 406; Jenny Wright 216; Bill Schults 163b; Carole Dempsey 168.

Margaret Graver conducted the memorial lesson, and led 481 in memory of the following deceased: Adrian Morton—California; Carol Quimby Heath—Connecticut; Beth Olsen Johns—Florida; Joanne Guthrie Coburn and Charlotte Quimby—New Hampshire; John Bayer—Ohio; Wilmer Brandt, Pat Colteryahn, Keith Coran, Bill Dempsey, Timothy Grannis, Ed Janeway, John MacArthur, Daphny Murray Mara, and Dave Wales—Vermont.

Dan Hertzler led 65 for the following sick and shut-ins: Corky Boshara, Linda Brazeau, Dory Coran, Jackie Degrenier, Mark Dowling, Mark Elliot, Eugene Forbes, Joanne Fuller, Eric Hildebrandt, David McCumber, Mike Ramsey, Fabian Rodriguez, Mimi Rodriguez, and Laura Timmerman.

Leaders: Robert Stoddard 421; Sarah Maika 383. Chelsea Smiley offered grace before the noon meal.


Nicandra Galper called the class to order by leading 228. Leaders: Elizabeth Stoddard 57; Mike Nord 440; Carly Goss 197; Mary Skidmore 196; Patrick Friesen 505; Susan Jaster 71; Christopher Kain 496; Stina Soderling 269; Ron Trial 455; Liz Cantrell 315; Fred Emigh 47b; Tristan Gordon 470; Sue Dwelle 178; Mike Richards 39b; Traci Naylor 542; Dan Coppock 419; Liz Patton 163t; Jonas Powell 209; Ishmael Stefanov-Wagner 362; Andal Sundaramurthy 236; Scott Luscombe 376; Margaret Graver 565.


Judy Contompasis called the class back together by leading 312b. Leaders: Larry Gordon 340; Nic Tuff 448t; Chelsea Smiley 95; Robert Stoddard 395; Betsy Maislen 454; Dan Hertzler 452; L.H. Spencer 442; Anna Mays 475; Peggy Kadina-Mazela 566; Ian Ludders 277; Traci Naylor 522; Jonathan Spencer 360; Ian Smiley 384; Lynnette Combs 198; Kerry Cullinan 63; Anya Skibbie 573; Christopher Kain 282; Stina Soderling and Tristan Gordon 445; Robert Stoddard and Mike Nord 48t; Patrick Friesen and Donna Carlson 408; Elizabeth Stoddard and Zoe Skibbie 569b; Dan Hertzler and Dan Coppock 76b.

In a business meeting, the Treasurer reported that expenses were met. The Secretary reported that there were one hundred registered singers from eight states, and that forty-eight leaders led ninety-one songs. It was announced that the 2018 Vermont All-Day Singing will be held on Saturday before the fourth Sunday in March in Barre, Vermont. Anna Mays thanked all who made the day successful and joyous.

Paul Gauthier led 62 as the closing song. Margaret Graver offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Co-Chairmen—Paul Gauthier and Dan Hertzler; Secretary—Carole Dempsey