Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Hyde Park / University of Chicago Singing

57th Street Meeting of Friends, Hyde Park, Chicago, Illinois

Saturday, November 5, 2016

The 18th annual Hyde Park All-Day Singing was held at Quaker House, Chicago, Illinois, on Saturday before the first Sunday in November. The class was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Jim Helke leading 13 (MH). Rochelle Lodder offered the opening prayer. This singing uses The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition, and the Missouri Harmony (MH).

Leaders: Mary Rogel 49t; Erica Detemmerman 267; Ginny Landgraf 88 (MH); Steve Warner 34b (in honor of Michael Appert); Amritpal Singh 122; Dave Barford 56b; Darrell Swarens 36b; Terry Cunningham 148; Michael Mosley 172; Doug Stapleton 217; Pleasance Crawford 403.

A business session was held to elect or appoint the following officers and committee members: Chairman—Mary Rogel; Vice Chairman—Amritpal Singh; Secretary—Erica Detemmerman; Arranging Committee—Jim Swanson and Ann Sleeva; Finance Officer—Jim Helke; Chaplain—Rochelle Lodder; Resolutions Committee—Mary Rogel and Ginny Landgraf.


Leaders: Randy Neufeld 171; Nicholas Pasqual 173; Rochelle Lodder 313b; Anne Heider 192; Jo Dell Albi 180 (MH); Jacob Lee 138 (MH); Linda Heemskerk 324; Matthew Siefert 111b; Ted Mercer 80 (MH); Susan Geil 177 (MH); Jim Swanson 564 (in memory of Janelle Davis); Jerry Gripshover 89 (MH); Eileen Ferguson 112; Linda Selph 475; Lindsay Kruse 47t; Jim Helke 20 (MH) (in memory of Johnny Lee).


Mary Rogel brought the class back together leading 99. Leaders: Erica Detemmerman 100; Cathryn Bearov 426b; Ginny Landgraf 6 (MH); Steve Warner 84; Amritpal Singh 186; Dave Barford 484; Darrell Swarens 507 (in memory of Janelle Davis); Terry Cunningham 142; Doug Stapleton 440; Pleasance Crawford 301; Lisa Grayson 411; Randy Neufeld 234; Nicholas Pasqual 114 (MH); Rochelle Lodder 135 (MH). Rochelle Lodder offered a blessing before the noon meal.


Jim Swanson brought the class back together leading 114. Leaders: Ann Sleeva 108 (MH); Anne Heider 131 (MH); Jo Dell Albi 109 (MH); Jacob Lee 300; John Seaton 62 (MH); Susan Geil 81t; Linda Heemskerk 70b; Ted Mercer 75 (MH); Jerry Gripshover 178; Jim Helke 142 (MH); Eileen Ferguson 479; Linda Selph 430; Michael Mosley 208; Mary Rogel 129 (MH); Erica Detemmerman 144 (MH); Ginny Landgraf 7 (MH); Steve Warner 168; Amritpal Singh 344; Dave Barford 538.


Ann Sleeva brought the class back together leading 49b. Leaders: Terry Cunningham 268; Darrell Swarens 198; Lisa Grayson 113 (MH); Pleasance Crawford 146 (MH); Linda Heemskerk 39t; Cathryn Bearov 127 (MH); John Seaton 169 (MH); Anne Heider 532; Randy Neufeld 29t; Jacob Lee 168 (MH); Susan Geil 565; Ted Mercer 299; Michael Mosley 303; Steve Warner 203; Nicholas Pasqual 116; Rochelle Lodder 481; Jerry Gripshover 46; Eileen Ferguson 503; Jim Swanson 546.

Mary Rogel thanked each of the organizers and all of the singers in attendance. Announcements were made. Jim Helke reported that expenses had been met. The Secretary reported that eighty-one songs were led by thirty-one leaders from three states and one Canadian province.

Mary Rogel and Amritpal Singh led 347 as the closing song, while those who wished took the parting hand. Rochelle Lodder offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Mary Rogel; Vice Chairman—Amritpal Singh; Secretary—Erica Detemmerman