Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Vancouver Sacred Harp Singing

Grandview Calvary Baptist Church, Vancouver, British Columbia

Saturday, October 1, 2016

The 2nd Vancouver All-Day Sacred Harp Singing was called to order by Caroline Helmeczi and Kevin Beirne leading 72b. Jocelyn Price offered the morning prayer.

A business meeting was held to elect the following officers: Chairman—Tova Houpt; Vice Chairman—Kevin Beirne; Treasurer—Jake Hachey; Secretary—Owen Plowman.

Leaders: Tova Houpt 29b; Jake Hachey 312t; Jennifer Jones 300; Matthew MacLellan 176b; Ana Tighe 81t; Peter Schinske 137; Dorothy Robinson 286; Adam Berey 451; Betsy Jeronen 573; Tom McTighe 73t; Marie Brandis 29t; Lu Zeng 129; Emma Swartz 101t; Steve Cackley 198; Erik Schwab 308; Kelly Kennedy 30t; John Berendzen 64; Claire Hogan 95; John Wiens 70b; Clarissa Fetrow 224.


The class was called back to order by Matthew MacLellan and Jocelyn Price leading 68b. Leaders: Bob Schinske 128; Ruth Linehan 284; David Wright 202; Laura McMurray 101b; Wing Mui 107; Kevin Barrans 349; Suzanne Garmsen 178; Kevin Beirne 460; Jennifer Jones 318; Tom McTighe 556; Rene de Vos 47t; Adam Berey 312b; Emma Swartz 560.


The class was called back to order by Erik Schwab leading 565. Leaders: Caroline Helmeczi 324; Steve Cackley 494; Betsy Jeronen 422; Matthew MacLellan 506; Clarissa Fetrow 402; Tova Houpt 143; Peter Schinske 99; Marie Brandis 472; Claire Hogan 148; David Wright 410b; Lu Zeng 415; Sean MacPherson 359; Suzanne Garmsen 47b; John Berendzen 48b; Rene de Vos 46; Wing Mui 228; Dorothy Robinson 377; Jake Hachey 328. The grace was offered by Jocelyn Price.


The class was called back to order Claire Hogan leading 270. Leaders: Jake Hachey 332; Bob Schinske 302; Jocelyn Price and Matthew MacLellan 268; Ana Tighe 411; Adam Berey 149; Betsy Jeronen 436; Erik Schwab 316; Kevin Barrans 271b; Laura McMurray 283; Kevin Beirne and James Saville 454; Eric Wayt and John Wiens 547; David Wright 541; Kelly Kennedy 355; Ruth Linehan 500; Sean MacPherson 55; Caroline Helmeczi 440; John Wiens 553; Peter Schinske 209; Clarissa Fetrow 112; Emma Swartz and Jennifer Jones 430; Lu Zeng 479.


The class was called back together by Ana Tighe leading 32t. Leaders: Dorothy Robinson 383; Steve Cackley 505; Wing Mui 504; John Berendzen 566; Jake Hachey 108b; Bronwyn MacPherson and Sean MacPherson 347; Rene de Vos 282; Kevin Barrans 196; Ruth Linehan 542; Caroline Helmeczi 42; Tom McTighe 124; Matthew MacLellan 320; John Wiens 61.

The business session was reopened. The Treasurer reported that the day’s expenses had been met. It was reported that there were fifty-eight registered attendees from two countries including two US states and three Canadian provinces, and that ninety songs were sung. Announcements were made. Thanks were given to all who helped make the singing a success.

Tova Houpt led 348t as the closing song. Jocelyn Price offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Tova Houpt; Vice Chairman—Kevin Beirne; Secretary—Owen Plowman