Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

New Haven Singing

Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut

Sunday, April 17, 2016

The 6th annual New Haven All-Day Sacred Harp Singing was held in Connecticut Hall on the campus of Yale University. The class was called to order by Angharad Davis leading 38t. The opening prayer was offered by LaRee Delahunt.

Leaders: John Klaess 32t; Jonathan Kaufman Scher and Kassie Urban-Mead 159; LaRee Delahunt 34b; Julius Pasay 270; Paula Picton 48t; Vicki Hayes 131b; Charlie Urban-Mead 40; Ian Quinn 31b; Chris Geissler 49t; Alice Beattie 35; John Holbrook 354t; Emma Swartz 426t; Brooks Chupp 287; Doron Henkin 228; Charlotte Ehrman 486; Sam Kleinman 428; Julia Reischel 203; Holly Laws 319; Solon Gordon 274t; Mary Skidmore 421.


The class was called to order by Ellen Lueck leading 92. Leaders: Terry Ryan 164; John Gambell 56t; Amy Valladares 196; Brian Harris 383; Ines Luettgen 88t; Alex Inglis 65; Emily Hale Sills 344; Andre Kuney 277.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Christina Wallin and Jason Steidl. Ms. Wallin’s lesson referenced Dan Adams, who noted that having a singing brought to him “made his eternity”. Ms. Wallin then read the following names of those who were sick or shut-in: Joanne Fuller, James Cantrell, Kshama Ananthapura, Joanne DeVoe, Darryl Horst, and Jesse Polhemus. She led 330b in their honor.

Mr. Steidl reminded us that Sacred Harp brings “beauty, kindness, and goodness” to our lives, and then read the following names of those who are deceased: Dan Adams, Beverly Porter, and John Irvine—Connecticut; Ann Henry and Richard Nunley—New York; Loraine Bayer—Ohio; Peggy Waide, Marilyn Dewar, and Norman Pierce—North Carolina; Grace Sensenig Horst, Rachel Zimmerman Farrey Histand, and Oliver Kindig-Stokes—Pennsylvania; Anna Kathryn Shenk Eby—Virginia; Sandi Peaslee—Massachusetts; Margaret Fitzgerald—Florida; Joyce Fagan—New South Wales; Donald Kleinman and John Schaeffer—Colorado; David Strother and Francis Bliss—Maine; Rob Walker—Rhode Island. He led 69t in their memory. Mr. Steidl closed the memorial lesson with a prayer.

Leaders: Charles Biada 430; Nancy Mandel 123b; Robert Stoddard 426t; Alvaro Witt Duarte 186; Liora O’Donnell Goldensher 546; Keillor Mose 222; Gwen Gethner 441; Jesse Vear 528; James Baumgartner 102; Laura Hodges 30b; Erik-Dardan Ymeraga 391; Margaret Youngberg 280; Philippa Stoddard 200; Al McCready 153; Rachel Stevens 318; Liz Cantrell 192; Chris Holley 475. The blessing before the noon meal was asked by LaRee Delahunt.


The class was called to order by Ian Quinn leading 111t. Leaders: Matthew Leger-Small 438; Lydia Llewallen 171; Micah John Walter 542; Mike Richards 436; Cheri Hardy 99; Stephanie Fida 532; Kyle Johnston 290; Claire Hogan 42; Aldo Ceresa 411; Vicki Elliott 377; Linda Shea 306; Carol Huang 201; Chris Cotter 57; Elizabeth Stoddard 534; Becky Wright 396; Rachel Hall 423; Jeremy Galvagni 70b; Krista Guerrieri 117; Anna Kellar 148; Cat Fanysome 168; Sasha Hsuczyk 564.


The class was called to order by Julie Botnick leading 52t. Leaders: Michael Kaye 480; Christina Wallin and Jason Steidl 417; Jordan Lewis 81t; John Holbrook 45t (for Rev. Samuel Slie); Jesse Flynn and Jesse Vear 384; Katie FitzGerald 187; Douglas Fower 299; Gerald Clark 101b; Patrick Friesen 229; Sarah Underhill 324; Jon Giles 359; Nancy Britton 151; Lynne deBenedette 217; Ellen Lueck 111b.

The Treasurer reported that all expenses had been met. The Secretary reported that there were eighty-five songs led by eighty-eight leaders with registered participants representing twelve states, the United Kingdom, and Canada. Ellen Lueck and Philippa Stoddard gave the Resolutions Committee report, thanking all who helped make the singing a success, and announcing the resolution to meet again in Connecticut Hall on the third Sunday in April, 2017. Announcements were made.

The officers led 62 as the closing song. LaRee Delahunt offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Angharad Davis; Vice Chairman—John Klaess; Secretaries—Kassie Urban-Mead and Jonathan Kaufman Scher