Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Ivey Memorial

Liberty Baptist Church, Henagar, Alabama

Sunday, January 31, 2016

The annual Ivey Memorial Sacred Harp Singing was held at Liberty Baptist Church on the fifth Sunday in January. The class was called to order by Shane Wootten leading 82t. The opening prayer was offered by Phil Summerlin.

Leaders: Shane Wootten 65; Jared Wootten 48t; Cheyenne Ivey 432; Loyd Ivey 89; Eugene Forbes 208; David Ivey 270; Roberta Strauss 440; Boyd Scott 358; Jamey Wootten 441; Paul Figura 68b (for Charlie Derleth); Judy Chambless 472; Adrian Eldridge 499 (in memory of Todd Thomas); Ann Fox 145t; Richard Mauldin 43 (in memory of John and Josie Hyde); Nicolas Hall 186.


Shane Wootten and Jared Wootten led 101t to bring the class together. Leaders: Richard Ivey 217; Karen Rollins 141; Daniel Lee 565; Rebecca Over 283 (for Earlis McGraw); Darrell Swarens and Jared Wootten 341 (in memory of Hobert Ivey); Shirley Figura 213t; Dennis George and Tom George 202; Justin Bowen, Ciera Cope, Ethan Bennett, Juan Munoz, Savannah Swanson, Sarah Wood, and Melissa Wilson 47b; Isaac Green 282; Mary Blake Thompson and Richard Ivey 383; Scott DePoy 339 (in memory of Robert DePoy); Lisa Bennett 532 (for Janelle Davis); Louis Hughes 512; Pam Nunn 216 (in memory of Shelby Sheppard); Jonathon Smith 200; Sarah Trumbore 75; David Brodeur 174; Erica Hinton 324; Barrett Patton 304 (in memory of Marie Aldridge).


The class was called to order by Scott Ivey leading 37b. Leaders: Stephen Miller 111b; Jeannette DePoy 414; Andy Ditzler 197; Buell Cobb and Terry Wootten 349; Rachel Jordan 466; Robert Chambless 70t; Lauren Bock 462 (in memory of Oliver Kindig-Stokes); Henry Johnson 271b; Winfred Kerr 146; Lisa Geist 273; Matt Hinton 168; Daniel Williams 34t; Eschol Hughes 316; Eli Hinton 99; Amber Saylors and Spencer Saylors 277; David Smead 187; Samuel Williams 372; Nathan Stewart 234.


The afternoon session began with Shane Wootten leading 129. Leaders: Aaron Wootten 39t; Ken Kelly 480; Rodney Ivey and Reba Windom 411; Karen Freund 442; Kelsey Ivey 542; Larry Ballinger, Gravis Ballinger, Earl Ballinger, Linton Ballinger, and Lomax Ballinger 460, 110; Nicholas Thompson and Judy Caudle 500; Jerry Creason 74b; Sharon DuPriest and Cindy Tanner 155 (in memory of Evelyn Harris); Shelby Castillo and Drew McGuire 498; Ann Jett 327; Hayden Arp 405; Charlotte Gentry, Andrew Gentry, and Elizabeth Gentry 45t; David Light 436; Susan Harcrow and Sarah Jenkins 496; Karen Ivey 182; Laura Clawson 142; Marty Wootten and Levon Wootten 36b; John Plunkett 284 (for Earlis McGraw); Judy Mincey 180; Stuart Ivey 276.


Shane Wootten and Joel Jenkins led 76b to bring the class together. Leaders: Chris Boggs and Nancy Boggs 290; Susan Cherones 564; Syble Adams, Richard Ivey, and Shane Wootten 348b; Phil Summerlin 278t; Eloise Wootten 454; John Kelso 447 (in memory of Oliver Kindig-Stokes); Ester Williams 163t; Donna Wootten, Anna Wootten, and Lilly Underwood 56t; Bridgett Hill Kennedy 299; Sandy Ivey 201; Hayden Wootten 42; Loyd Ivey, Theresa Bethune, and Marian Biddle 501 (CB); Gary Glover 335.

Shane Wootten, Jared Wootten, and Joel Jenkins led 521 as the closing song. Joel Jenkins offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Shane Wootten; Vice Chairman—Jared Wootten; Secretary—Cheyenne Ivey