Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cleburne County Convention

Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church, near Heflin, Alabama

August 17, 1997

The one hundred-eighth session of the Cleburne County Sacred Harp Singing Convention met at Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church near Heflin, Alabama on the third Sunday in August, and was called to order by Chairman Harvey Austin leading song on page 45t. The morning prayer was led by Lonnie Rogers.

The Introductory Lesson was led by Harvey Austin from a book that was given to the Convention in memory of the late J. W. Laminack. Songs used were: 59, 73t, 335, and 274 (t? b?).

A business session was held and the following officers were elected or appointed: Chairman—Cecil Edwards; Vice Chairman—Harvey Austin; Secretary and Memorial Committee—Mary Lambert Smith; Arranging Committee—Hester Edwards.

Leaders: Cecil Edwards 126, 127; B. M. Smith 28b, 34t, 475; Reba Norton 452, 136; Jimmie Denney 313t, 101t; Margie Smith 76b (in memory of Carl Hughes), 82t, 32t; Lonnie Rogers 336, 137 (for Virgil Phillips), 186; Karen Reeves 339, 410 (t? b?).


The singing resumed with Cecil Edwards leading song on page 277. Leaders: Milton Oliver 275b, 321b; Carlene Griffin 171, 448b, 117; Henry Johnson 317b, 388, 70t; Felton Denney 503, 31b, 299; Shelbie Sheppard 203, 267; Shelbie Sheppard and Nancy Allen 153; Bud Oliver 480, 270.

The memorial lesson was presented by Mary Florence Smith, and the names of those remembered were: Hazel Cagle, Myrtis Edwards Deese, Barrett Ashley, Jimmy Causey, Johnny Williams, Horace Lambert, Tyrone Dryden, and for all those who have loved and supported the Convention. Bud Oliver led songs on pages 145t and 176t for the deceased.

Henry Johnson led 68b for all the sick and shut-in. The memorial was closed with prayer led by Felton Denney.


The afternoon session was called to order by Cecil Edwards leading song on page 39b. Leaders: Everette Denney 119, 113, 138b; Jeff Sheppard 292, 327, 140; Mary Florence Smith 206, 326; Lou Cotney 222, 218, 189; Alice Edwards 72b, 104; Lewis Norton 323b, 30b, 172 (for Gertrude Norton); Cecil Edwards 491 (for Reba Edwards).

After announcements were made, Cecil Edwards and Harvey Austin led 62 as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer by Lonnie Rogers.

The Convention will meet at Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church again in 1998 on the third Sunday in August.

Chairman—Cecil Edwards; Vice Chairman—Harvey Austin; Secretary—Mary Florence Smith.