Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Boiling Springs Convention

Mt. Zion Primitive Baptist Church, Clay County, Ashland, Alabama

Saturday, November 7, 2015

The 149th session of the Boiling Springs Sacred Harp Convention was held at Mt. Zion Primitive Baptist Church near Ashland, Alabama, on Saturday before the second Sunday in November. The class was called to order by Eugene Forbes at 9:30 a.m. leading 32t. The opening prayer was offered by Richard Mauldin.

The following officers were elected to serve: Chairman—Eugene Forbes; Vice Chairman—Jack Nelson.

Leaders: Eugene Forbes 101t; Oscar McGuire 34b, 172; Judy Chambless 37b, 171; Richard Mauldin 143, 446; Jacob Acton 282, 294; Mike Richards 228, 283; Buell Cobb 337, 325; Hubert Nall 135, 287.


The class was called to order by Eugene Forbes leading 405. Leaders: Jenny Acton 340, 108b; Winfred Kerr 89, 146; Phillip Denney 47t, 84; Shane Brown 39t, 34t; Daniel Williams 74t, 347; Susan Cherones 564, 300; Eddie Mash 114; Eddie Mash and Eugene Forbes 218.

Buell Cobb conducted the memorial lesson. He spoke and read the following names of the sick and shut-ins: Toney Smith, Lavoy Smith, Ottis Sides, Floy Wilder, S.T. Reed, Neal Anderson, Donald Forbes, Lori Hinesley, Nell Estes, and Anne Chalker. He led 153 in their honor.

Buell read the following list of names of the deceased: Dawson Adams, Gib Amason, Sammie Oliver, Raymond Hamrick, Johnny Humber, Stella Pratt, Robert DuPree, and Oliver Kindig-Stokes. Buell led 176t in memory of Oliver. Jack Nelson led 472. Hubert Nall offered prayer to close the memorial service.

Leaders: Jack Nelson 408, 411; Bridgett Hill Kennedy 277, 440.


The class was called to order by Jack Nelson leading 480. Leaders: Eugene Forbes 189 (in memory of his sister, Vernelle Amason); Beth Branscome 456, 344; Jacob Acton 186, 196; Myrline Redmon 569b; Edna Phillips, Myrline Redmon, Donald Forbes, and Kenneth Forbes 45t; Jenny Acton 112; Judy Chambless 318; Oscar McGuire 336; Richard Mauldin 64; Mike Richards 550; Robert Chambless 303; Hubert Nall 168; Winfred Kerr 314; Shane Brown 133; Daniel Williams 123t; Susan Cherones 460; Eddie Mash 454; Jack Nelson 551; Bridgett Hill Kennedy 30t, 88t; Beth Branscome 565; Myrline Redmon 341.

Jack Nelson and Eugene Forbes led 145b as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Jack Nelson, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Eugene Forbes; Vice Chairman—Jack Nelson