Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Mt. Zion Primitive Baptist Church Homecoming

Ashland, Alabama

Sunday, May 3, 2015

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Mt. Zion Primitive Baptist Church was held on the first Sunday in May. The class was called to order by Eugene Forbes leading 32t and 75. The opening prayer was offered by William Futral.

The class was organized by electing the following officers: Chairman—Eugene Forbes; Vice Chairman—Jack Nelson; Arranging Officer—Edna Ruth Phillips; Secretary—Myrline Redmon.

Leaders: Eugene Forbes 100; Lori Hinesley 143, 112; Judy Chambless 82t, 146; Robert Chambless 72b, 235; Marilyn Bradley 312b, 159; Cecil Roberts 48t, 49b; Virginia Futral 569b, 145b; William Futral 61, 34t; Jenny Acton 229 (CB), 108b; Jacob Acton 196, 63.


Leaders: Jack Nelson 96; Pam Anderson 480, 490; Brandon Acton 36b, 282; Sheila Harris 358, 405; Myrline Redmon 340, 341; Wendy Futral 373, 59.


A memorial service was held in memory of Stanly Edwards, Audress Gurley, and Jacky Baird. The following sick and shut-ins were remembered: Hester Edwards, B.M. Smith, Karen Rollins, Floy Wilder, Nell Estes, Mary Frances Forbes, Susan Futral, Sandra Abrams, Elder J.D. Morris, and Patricia Anderson. The memorial service closed with prayer offered by Elder Ken Milner.

Leaders: Eugene Forbes 39b; Edna Phillips 452, 354b; Ken Milner and Jack Nelson 73t, 141; Sheila Harris 334; Lori Hinesley 172; Jack Nelson 512, 560; Judy Chambless 565; Pam Anderson 339; Cecil Roberts 163b; Marilyn Bradley 81t; Jacob Acton 40, 294; William Futral and Virginia Futral 566; Roy Nelson 30b, 47b, 44; Jenny Acton 170. Jack Nelson led Mrs. Sarah Nelson’s favorite song “What A Day That Will Be”.

Eugene Forbes led 46 as the closing song. Minister Frank Arnall dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Eugene Forbes; Vice Chairman—Jack Nelson; Secretary—Myrline Redmon