Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Augusta Sacred Harp Singing

Augusta Old Line Primitive Baptist Church, Martinez, Georgia

Saturday, May 2, 2015

The 6th annual Augusta Sacred Harp Singing was held at Augusta Old Line Primitive Baptist Church, 3646 Old Petersburg Road, Martinez, Georgia, on Saturday before the first Sunday in May. Gene Pinion began the meeting at 9:30 a.m. with a singing school and history. He explained the shaped notes and the four-part harmony sung by Sacred Harp singers. After the lesson and history, Joyce Heath welcomed everyone. Elder Dwayne Hooven offered the opening prayer.

The class was called to order by Joyce Heath at 10:00 a.m. leading 63 and 112. Leaders: Frank DeBolt 515; Thomas Smith 162; John Gentry 47b; Sharon Strong 299; Rob Dylan 29b; Richard Noegel 282; Tom Ivey 228; Agnes Roberts and Chandler Thigpen 338; Oscar McGuire 171; Gene Pinion 100; Helen Grayson 155; Bob Lester 159.


Joyce Heath brought the class back to order by leading 186 and 143. Leaders: Frank DeBolt 503, 569b; Thomas Smith 183, 268; John Gentry 313b, 312b; Sharon Strong 547, 504; Rob Dylan 178, 457; Chandler Thigpen 154, 128; Agnes Roberts 64; Bill Rheil 126, 78; Joyce Heath 137; Tom Ivey 37b. Elder Dwayne Hooven asked the blessing before lunch.


Joyce Heath called the class back to order at 1:00 p.m. and led 52t and 127. The class entered into a business session with the following officers elected to serve: Chairman—Joyce Heath; Vice Chairman—Richard Noegel; Secretary—Diane Goldman assisted by Chandler Thigpen. Following the business session, a special presentation was made by Tom Ivey on behalf of R.C. Webber and John Bealle to Agnes Roberts of a song entitled Agnes (L.M.). The music was written in honor of Agnes Roberts by R.C. Webber and John Bealle (2014), who were unable to attend the singing for the presentation. The text was written by Gurdon Robbins, Jr. (1843). Agnes Roberts expressed her thanks and appreciation for honoring her in such a special way, and the class sang the song to her.

Leaders: Richard Noegel 266, 143; Tom Ivey 340; Oscar McGuire 229, 57, 276; Agnes Roberts and Diane Goldman 61; Gene Pinion 528; Helen Grayson 175, 287; Rob Dylan 70b, 89; Joyce Heath 147t; Frank DeBolt 334, 551; Thomas Smith 447, 277; Chandler Thigpen 318, 496; John Gentry 160b, 274t; Sharon Strong 524; Rob Dylan 49b; Gene Pinion 47t; Tom Ivey 354t.

Joyce Heath thanked all who attended and helped with this year’s singing, and then led 267 as the closing song. Announcements were made. John Gentry offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Joyce Heath; Vice Chairman—Agnes Roberts; Secretary—Diane Goldman and Chandler Thigpen