Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

New Haven Singing

Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut

Sunday, April 19, 2015

The 5th annual New Haven Sacred Harp Singing was held in Connecticut Hall on the campus of Yale University. The class was called to order by Ellen Lueck leading 38t. The opening prayer was offered by Ian Quinn.

Leaders: Jonathan Kaufman Scher and Ellen Lueck 59; Mason Shefa 31b; Philippa Stoddard 48t; John Klaess 81t; Julia Friend and Elizabeth Stoddard 47t; John Gambell and Charles Biada 186; LaRee Delahunt and Julie Botnick 82t; Vicky Bailey Hayes and Philippa Stoddard 99; Ian Quinn 150; Martha Rogers 146; Al McCready 228; Harrison Newert 445; Christina Wallin 207; Andre Kuney 335; Patrick Friesen 460; Kamilah Tisdale 472; Charles Biada and Mari Oye 422; Angus Macdonald and Rachel Weisberg 69t; Nancy Britton 80t.


The class was called to order by Nancy Mandel leading 32t. Leaders: Julie Botnick 171; Eli Petzold 551; Matthew Welch and Ellen Lueck 284; Laura Hodges 227; Evan Druce 35; Angus Macdonald 49b; Deborah Marsh 178; Douglas Fower 344; Marianna Gailus 47b; Michael Kaye 68b; Sophie Soloway 327; Mel Novner 216; Michael Nord 383.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Gwen Gethner and Alvaro Witt Duarte. Ms. Gethner’s eloquent reflection dealt with visible and invisible illness. Ms. Gethner then read the following names of those who were sick or shut-in: Claire Simon, Susan Bingham, Merv Horst, David Broderick, Margarite Lydon, S.T. Reed, Wayne Reed, B.M. Smith, Tom Padwa, David Strother, and Toni Strother. She led 430 in their honor.

Mr. Duarte’s lesson was lighthearted and moving, mentioning the difference between the family-centric singing community in the South, and the individualist singing community in the North. He noted that the idea of family is more inclusive than simply relation; singing together allows us to feel familial empathy for each other’s suffering. Mr. Duarte then read the following names of those who are deceased: Phil Davis—District of Columbia; Raymond Hamrick and Joyce Harrison—Georgia; David Wampler—Pennsylvania; Betty Wright, Hobert Ivey, Sammie Oliver, and Stanly Edwards—Alabama; Rose Warnock—Massachusetts; Larry Manahan—Minnesota. He led 448b in their memory. John Plunkett closed the memorial lesson with a prayer.

Leaders: Cheri Hardy 176t; James Baumgartner 193; Molly Bledsoe 220. Bridgett Hill Kennedy offered the grace before the noon meal.


The class was called to order by Laura Clawson leading 72b. Leaders: Mary Skidmore 564; Willis McCumber 318; Kiri Miller 377; Corinne Ducey 396; Matthew Léger-Small 367; Elene Stovall 142; Linda Shea 400; Aldo Ceresa 297; Leah Velleman 423; Sam Kleinman 532; Bridgett Hill Kennedy 168; Liz Cantrell 269; Rachel Wells Hall 58; John Plunkett 280; Emma Rose Brown 176b; Joanne Fuller 309; Myles Louis Dakan 447; Gerald Clark 406; Elizabeth Stoddard 283; Becky Wright 433.


The class was called to order by Cheri Hardy leading 556. Leaders: Paula Picton 300; Robert Stoddard 296; Carol Huang 290; Anya Skibbie 313b; Nancy Mandel 485; Jason Steidl 124; Ines Lüttgen 208; Jon Giles 189; Gwen Gethner 30b; Terry Ryan 550; Lynne deBenedette 73t; Alvaro Witt Duarte 540; Sarah Underhill 101b; Charlotte Ehrman 486; Maisa Tisdale 282; Sharon Lehr 315.

The Treasurer reported that all expenses had been met. The Secretary reported that there were seventy-seven songs led by seventy-seven leaders with registered participants representing thirteen states. Charles Biada gave the Resolutions Committee report, thanking all who helped make the singing a success, and announcing the resolution to meet again in Connecticut Hall on the third Sunday in April, 2016.

Announcements were made. The officers led 62 as the closing song. Paula Picton offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Ellen Lueck; Vice Chairman—Jonathan Kaufman Scher; Secretary—Mason Shefa