Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Texas State Sacred Harp Convention

Coker United Methodist Church, San Antonio, Texas

February 21-22, 2015

Saturday, February 21

The 23rd annual Texas State Sacred Harp Singing Convention was held at the Coker United Methodist Church in San Antonio, Texas. Mike Hinton called the class to order leading 135. Danny Creel offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Mike Hinton 145t; Cassie Allen 138b; Tammy Powell 503; Carter Cook 142; Amy Peveto 183; Vickie Cook 171; Scott Curran 228; Don Ross 567; Richard Mauldin 168; Diane Ross 507; Mike Woinoslsi 345b; Sonny Erwin 489; Judy Whiting 222; Bill Bailey 95; David Brodeur 315; Robert Vaughn 224; Riley Owen 67; Danny Creel 383; Katie Mahoney 456; Jackson Owen 53; Christopher Nicholson 73b; Ken Tate 314.


Cassie Allen called the class back to order by leading 100. Leaders: Janie Short 500; Lori Rodgers 379; Liz Owen 546; Hubert Nall 176b; Rick Cunningham 70b; Ben Copenhaver 71; Kathy Williams 217; Beverly Coates 547; Syd Caldwell and Mike Hinton 218; Kevin Powell 200; Kyle Hearn 39t; Linn Schmidt 38b; Linda Booker 569b; Rich Lee 37b; Paige Winslett 430; Becca Short 162; Jeb Owen 73t; Donna Sewell 63; Olivia Powell 480; Joy Spreadborough 452; Bruce Coates 30b; Steve Helwig 460; Michele Curran 269; Chris Brown 447.

The following committees were appointed: Memorial Committee—Richard Mauldin and Syd Caldwell; Nominating Committee—Sonny Erwin and Michele Curran. Danny Creel offered the noon prayer.


Mike Hinton called the class to order by leading 145b. Leaders: Tom Owen 512; Janet Morgan 77t; Rick Foreman 418; Rodney Ivey and Cassie Allen 432; Leon Ballinger 195; Dave Collette 350; Jesse Latimer 532; Zach Webb 40; Cheryl Foreman 472; Amanda Bowels 159; Abigail Webb 33t; Ron Bernucho 268; Susan Webb 178; Greg Bowels 300; Paige Winslett 181; Micah Rodgers and Cheyenne Ivey 31t; Kyle Hearn 454; Richard Mauldin 43; David Brodeur 450 (for Chloe Webb); Riley Owen and Girl Scouts 45t; Mike Woinoslsi 76b. Announcements were made.


Danny Creel led 30t to bring the class back together. Leaders: Syd Caldwell 328; Kathy Williams 276; Hubert Nall 313t; Ken Tate 303; Jackson Owen 32t; Janet Morgan 89; Donna Sewell 448b; Judy Whiting and Chris Brown 176t; Joy Spreadborough 457; Steve Helwig 458.

Mike Hinton and Cassie Allen led 68b as the closing song. Danny Creel offered the closing prayer.

Sunday, February 22

The Sunday session of the Texas State Convention was called to order by Mike Hinton leading 46. Danny Creel offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Cassie Allen 36b; Tammy Powell 142; Richard Mauldin 143; Bill Bailey 540; Joy Spreadborough 47b; Carter Cook 203; Danny Creel 428; Kristie Powell 110; Silas Huckaby 53; Mike Woinoslsi 189; Sarah Huckaby 542; Gaylon Powell 500; Kathy Williams 151; Jo Pendleton 34b; Crystal Meadows 183; Steve Helwig 133; Becky Hendricks 479; Chris Nicholson 49t; Ken Tate 535.


Cassie Allen called the class together by leading 131b. Leaders: Sonny Erwin 111b; Robert Vaughn “Syd”; Syd Caldwell 234; Linda Booker 490; Beverly Coates 107; David Brodeur 306; Janie Short 543; Scott Curran 196; Katie Mahoney 399b; Chris Brown 206; Bruce Coates 235; Ben Copenhaver 338; Don Ross 475; Hubert Nall 287; Leon Ballinger 172; Olivia Powell 148; Linn Schmidt 128; Rick Foreman 426t.

A memorial lesson was held at this time. Syd Caldwell and Kathy Williams led 155 for the following sick and shut-ins: Curtis Owen, Edith Owen, Myrl Jones, Jimmy Foreman, Alexa Nichols, Don Huckaby, Jane Goforth, Liz Owen, the Taylor family, Beau Caldwell, Andy Worthington, Kermit Adams, S.T. Reed, Wayne Reed, Bill Windom, Willodean Barton, Evelyn Harris, and Daphene Causey.

Richard Mauldin led 339 in memory of the following deceased: Dawson Adams, Phillip Wootten, Sammie Oliver, Charles Kitchens, Hobert Ivey, Bill Aplin, Olivia Wootten Allen, Lewis Norton, and Stanly Edwards—Alabama; Dorothy Williams—UK; Raymond Hamrick, Josephine Denney, and Joyce Harrison—Georgia; Suzie Dickerson—Arkansas; Kate Davis—Ireland; Doris Hanks, Sallie Foreman, Jolene Crozker, John Kerr, and Casey Crawford—Texas. Danny Creel offered the closing prayer for the memorial service.

Leaders: Tom Owen 373; Cheryl Foreman 69b; Mike Hinton and the barbecue cooks 495; Cassie Allen 498; Rich Lee 425; Judy Whiting and Diane Ross 441. Danny Creel offered the noon prayer.


Scott Curran called the class to order by leading 448t. Leaders: Kevin Powell 86; Rodney Ivey and Silas Huckaby 300, 430; Ron Bernucho 408; Michele Curran 485; Lisa Bulawsky 531; Amanda Bowles 503; Amy Peveto 30b; Vickie Cook 150; Kristie Powell 383; Sarah Huckaby 168; Gaylon Powell 440; Crystal Meadows 481; Lori Rodgers 45t; Donna Sewell 146.

A business meeting was held. The following officers were elected to serve for next year: Chairman—Cassie Allen; Vice Chairman—Amy Peveto; Secretary—Tammy Powell; Treasurers—Rick Foreman and Cheryl Foreman.

Leaders: Tammy Powell 163b; Judy Whiting and Cheryl Foreman 521; Hubert Nall and Carter Cook 566; Kathy Williams and Beverly Coates 208; Richard Mauldin and Sonny Erwin 446; Chris Brown and Rick Foreman; David Brodeur and Tom Owen 336; Mike Woinoslsi and Bruce Coates 101b; Ben Copenhaver, Bill Bailey, and Rich Lee 451; Danny Creel and Gaylon Powell 112; Ken Tate and Leon Ballinger 84; Linn Schmidt and Katie Mahoney 323t; Steve Helwig and Crystal Meadows 492; Joy Spreadborough and Olivia Powell 354b; Michele Curran and Kristie Powell 186; Janie Short, Vickie Cook, and Amy Peveto 236.

Announcements were made. Mike Hinton, Cassie Allen, and Tammy Powell led 347 as the closing song. Danny Creel offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Mike Hinton; Vice Chairperson—Cassie Allen; Secretary—Tammy Powell