Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

South Yorkshire Singing

Wood Lane Countryside Centre,
Stannington, South Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Saturday, February 21, 2015

The annual South Yorkshire All-Day Sacred Harp singing was called to order by Sarah West leading 31b. Benny Ross offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairperson—Sarah West; Arranging Committee—Ian West, Vicki Elliott, and Eimear O’Donovan; Secretary—Cath Ingham.

Leaders: Vicki Elliott 34b; Geoff Grainger 535; Eimear O’Donovan 48t; Benny Ross 166; Sue Lord 388; Duane Nasis 60; Liam Kirby 131b; Hannah Land 480; Ed Paton-Williams 229; Lin James 148; Steve Brett 119; Erin Johnson-Hill 217; Phil Tyler 184; Michael Walker 36t; Helen Brown 422; Calum Woods and Rosalind Woods 38b; Ted Brown 105; Margaret Gillanders 440; Ian West 106.


Eimear O’Donovan called the class to order leading 171. Leaders: Vicki Elliott 277; Benny Ross 474; Nigel Bowley 113; Colin Higgins 29t; Liam Kirby and Maureen Kirby 282; Sarah West 112; Kate Kirwan 436.

Ted Brown conducted the memorial lesson and read the names of the following recently deceased: Bill Kerridge, Rina Rogers, Doris Leach, Geoffrey Nathan, John Selvey, Danny Arms, Sassie Davidson and Maggie Boyle. He also spoke for the following sick and housebound: Cath Tyler, Anna Pfau, Sister Pippa and Daphene Causey. Ted Brown led 77t and closed the memorial lesson with a prayer.

Leaders: Erin Johnson-Hill 235; Hannah Land 475; Calum Woods 406; Phil Owen 383; Geoff Grainger 503; Duane Nasis 76b; Sue Lord 111b; Margaret Gillanders 534; Steve Brett 225t. Hannah Land offered the blessing for the midday meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Ed Paton-Williams leading 102. Leaders: Ian West 415; Lin James 178; Michael Walker 522; Phil Tyler 442; Helen Brown and Ted Brown 426b; Kate Kirwan 532 (for Anna Pfau); Steve Brett 165; Eimear O’Donovan 278t; Erin Johnson-Hill 424; Hannah Land 280; Sarah West 201; Benny Ross 350; Liam Kirby 548; Nigel Bowley 513; Colin Higgins 313b; Duane Nasis 568; Phil Owen 542; Calum Woods 138t; Margaret Gillanders 556; Sue Lord 124.


Vicki Elliott and Amanda Elliott called the class to order leading 47t. Leaders: Geoff Grainger 569b; Ted Brown 338; Steve Brett 491; Margaret Gillanders 391; Phil Tyler 477; Michael Walker 103; Colin Higgins 203; Liam Kirby 205; Erin Johnson-Hill and Ed Paton-Williams 314; Ian West 445; Sue Lord 381; Kate Kirwan 411; Benny Ross and Lin James 294; Calum Woods 83t; Nigel Bowley 565; Hannah Land 73t; Helen Brown and Ted Brown 187 (for Daphene Causey); Duane Nasis 79; Eimear O’Donovan 290.

Sarah West led 347 as the closing song. Helen Brown offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Sarah West; Secretary—Cath Ingham