Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Lincoln’s Birthday Singing

University of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois

Sunday, February 15, 2015

The 23nd annual Lincoln’s Birthday singing was held on the third Sunday in February at Ida Noyes Hall, University of Chicago, in conjunction with the University of Chicago Folk Festival. The class was called to order at 1:00 p.m. by Jim Swanson, who led 34b.

Since many people unfamiliar with Sacred Harp attend this singing, he welcomed everyone, encouraged all to participate, and announced that there would be a singing school lesson to help them understand the music.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Jim Swanson; Secretary—Mary Rogel; Arranging Officer—Jim Swanson.

Leaders: Nick Pasqual 178; Ted Mercer 52b; Susan Matthews 84; Susan Geil 312b; Eileen Ferguson 344; Mary Rogel 217. Lisa Grayson presented a singing school lesson and led 45t. Leaders: Randy Neufeld 29t; Rochelle Lodder 171; Marian Neudel 117.


Jim Swanson brought the class back together by leading 111b. Leaders: Lisa Grayson 110; Scott Lybrand and Jim Swanson 448t; Jerry Gripshover and Mary Rogel 268; Jim Helke 186; Michael Appert 47b; Nick Pasqual 61; Rafael Suarez 163b; Ted Mercer 503 (in memory of Bob Sullivan, who died on January 27); Susan Matthews 133; Susan Geil 369; Eileen Ferguson 36b; Mary Rogel 504; Randy Neufeld 501; Melanie Hauff 203.


Mary Rogel brought the class to order by leading 148. Leaders: Marian Neudel 479; Rochelle Lodder 481; Scott Lybrand 448b; Lisa Grayson 269; Judy Hauff 82t; Jerry Gripshover and Mary Rogel 146; Jim Helke 496; Sally Youngquist 229; Ann Sleeva 569b; Michael Appert and Jeff Yonkus 313b; Jeff Yonkus 348b; Nick Pasqual 38t; Jim Swanson 300; Ted Mercer 297; Susan Matthews 52t; Susan Geil 474.

Announcements were made. Jim Swanson led 347 as the class took the parting hand.

Chairman—Jim Swanson; Secretary—Mary Rogel