Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

James River Convention

Historic St. John’s Church, Richmond, Virginia

Saturday, November 8, 2014

The 23rd annual James River Convention was held on Saturday before the second Sunday in November in the parish hall of St. John’s Church in Richmond, Virginia. The class was welcomed by Ben Hartland leading 145b. The opening prayer was offered by John W. delRe.

A business session was held, and the following officers were elected or appointed: Chairman—Bridget Camden; Vice Chairman—Emily Owens; Treasurer—Claire Steiner and John D. delRe; Secretaries—Mary Wright and Leyland delRe; Arranging Committee—Ben Hartland, John D. delRe, and Claire Steiner.

Leaders: Bridget Camden 65; Emily Owens 77t; Pat Temple 373; Leyland delRe 460; Scotty Scott 77b; Denver Walker 353; Mary Wright 35; Lamar Matthew 335; Jane Ferguson 133; Kathy Manning 222; Dan Hunter 97; Matt Roberts 142; Mary deNys 348t; Chris Wolf 430; Claire Chapin 503; Sasha Hsuczyk 74b; John Alexander 102; George Pomfret 171; Corrine Ducey 37b; Carol Selleck 569b; Liz Meitzler 215.


The class resumed singing with Matt Ference leading 72b. Leaders: Josh Barnett 390; Derek Lane 48t; Kathy Kaiser 131t; Graham DeZarn 204; Mary Langley 41b; Hank Schutz 143.

The memorial lesson was directed by Adrienne Robertson, who led 146. The following sick and shut-ins were honored: Marie Martinelli, Carol Welsh, and Jesse Smith. The following deceased were remembered: Don Ward and Don Rhodes—North Carolina; Frank Demarino, Alvin Brooks, and Michael Cheney—Maryland; Maureen Dunne—Virginia; Jeff Sheppard and Shelbie Sheppard—Alabama.

The class resumed singing with Lynda Hambourger leading 125. Leaders: Jim Glaser 438; Brenda Dunlap 82t; Tim Hambourger 448t; John Fedderson 455; Jim Strube 66; Mary Julia Street 361; Katy Kanfer 405; Mary Ann Daly 372; Carol Selleck 101t; Matt Ference 163t; Pat Temple 232; Sasha Hsuczyk. John W. delRe returned thanks for the noon meal.


All song selections in the afternoon sessions were from the Shenandoah Harmony. The class was brought together by Chris Wolf leading 43t (ShH). Leaders: Kelly Macklin 24b (ShH); Claire Steiner 243 (ShH); John D. delRe 80 (ShH); George Pomfret 453 (ShH); Liz Meitzler 242 (ShH); Corrine Ducey 264t (ShH); John Alexander 434t (ShH); Leyland delRe 178 (ShH); Claire Chapin 264b (ShH); Katy Kanfer 420t (ShH); Matt Roberts 457 (ShH); Mary deNys 260b (ShH); Elizabeth Betz 96t (ShH); John Fedderson 326t (ShH); Mary Ann Daly 328 (ShH); Dan Hunter 270 (ShH); Lamar Matthew 424b (ShH); Kathy Manning 254 (ShH); Chris Wolf 230 (ShH); John W. delRe 422 (ShH); Bridget Camden 218b (ShH).


The class resumed singing with Corrine Ducey leading 373 (ShH). Leaders: Jim Strube 431 (ShH); Mary Wright 11 (ShH); Josh Barnett 241t (ShH); Denver Walker 41 (ShH); Scotty Scott 279 (ShH); Robin Betz 326b (ShH); Donna Green 108 (ShH); John D. delRe 18b (ShH); Graham DeZarn 174 (ShH); Mary Julia Street 191 (ShH); Brenda Dunlap 441b (ShH); Jim Glaser 127 (ShH); Emily Owens 77 (ShH); Ben Hartland 163 (ShH); Lynda Hambourger 358 (ShH); Jane Ferguson 183 (ShH); John W. delRe 389 (ShH); Mary deNys 247 (ShH).


The class resumed singing with Josh Barnett leading 197 (ShH). Leaders: Kelly Macklin 423 (ShH); Emily Owens 45b (ShH); Matt Roberts 140b (ShH); Sasha Hsuczyk 443 (ShH); Mary Ann Daly 23 (ShH); Dan Hunter 62 (ShH); Katy Kanfer 300b (ShH); Elizabeth Betz 2 (ShH); Josh Barnett 105 (ShH); Bridget Camden and the Richmond group 30 (ShH); Corrine Ducey 162 (ShH); Kathy Manning 340b (ShH); Chris Wolf 305 (ShH); Graham DeZarn 1t (ShH); Brenda Dunlap 307 (ShH); John W. delRe 157 (ShH).

Emily Owens thanked all who had a part in putting on the convention, and all those who participated. The James River Convention will meet next year on Saturday before the second Sunday in November (November 7, 2015).

Bridget Camden led 14 (ShH) as the closing song. A prayer of dismissal was offered by John W. del Re, which concluded the convention.

Chairman—Bridget Camden; Vice Chairman—Emily Owens; Secretary—Mary Wright