Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

State Line Church

Cleburne County, Alabama

April 8, 1995

The annual Sacred Harp singing at State Line Church in Cleburne County, Alabama (Off Hwy. 78 at Georgia/Alabama Line) met on Saturday before the second Sunday in April. The day of singing began with B. M. Smith leading song on page 59. The morning prayer was given by Lonnie Rogers. Officers leading were: Jeff Sheppard 112; Mary Florence Smith 318; Lonnie Rogers 225t; Margie Smith 284. The class was organized and the following officers were elected: Chairman—B. M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Secretary—Mary Florence Smith; Arranging Committee—Margie Smith; Memorial Committee—Richard DeLong, Helen Bryson, and Connie Karduck. B. M. Smith led song on page 448b and leaders were called as follows: Steven Levine 351; Helen Bryson 163 (t? b?); Sarah Davie 384; Jeff Bell 441; John Bayer 330t; Reba Dell Windom 192; Phillip Langely 300; Connie Karduck 218; David McGukin 522; Melanie Hauff 278b; Richard DeLong 216; Shelbie Sheppard 485; James Gingerich 29 (t? b?); Jamie Dalton 347; Jan Ketelle 436; David Hough 480.


Jeff Sheppard called the class together leading song on page 35, and leaders following were: Jerry Enright 77t; Carla Smith 319; Keith Willard 211; Loraine Bayer 39b (Stanley Nelson, a new singer stood with Loraine); Terry Wootten 83t; Ruby Phillips 475; Samuel Sommers 464; Pam Nunn 336; Walter Graff 101t; Jerry Schreiber 383; Karen Willard “Harper’s Lament” or “Runie’s Farewell”; Meg Parsons 228; Marlon Wootten 78; I. V. McWhorter 74t; Linda Thomas 503b; Ted Mercer 138t; Jenny Willard 327; Katherine O’Hara 269; Ted Johnson 313b; Diane Avery 186; Kathy Hicks 37b; Milton Oliver 403; Christine Guth 370; Carolyn Deacy 114; Chris Thorman 297; Rene Greene 137.


The afternoon session opened with B. M. Smith leading song on 145 (t? b?). Leaders were: Kathy Manning 442; Don Garber 178; Judy Hauff 504; Joyce Saxon 452b. At this time the memorial lesson was given. Connie Karduck spoke of the deceased who have passed away in the past year and of the sorrowful time this is for all of us. The names of the deceased were: Helen Ivey Cordell, Winford Lacey, Lois Green, Ted Godsey, Lessie Cates, Ann Tarsa, Marilyn Trier, Zera Mize, Junurs Hudgins, Grace Johnson, Dorothy Meier, George Klein, Marilyn Miller, Mary Brumbaugh, Mrs. W. C. Kelly, Clellon Warren. Richard DeLong led page 499b in memory of Lessie Cates. In his remarks, he spoke of how he feels like we can never go back to that certain place again, but, “here we are again”. He remembered all the food she had brought to singings, how she was always there to give you a “hello” because she always loved Sacred Harp Singing and her Sacred Harp Family. We never get used to death, but this is life for all of us and he told of the many times that Lessie had sung page 499b in memory of her husband, Walker Cates. Helen Bryson led page 146 for the deceased whose names were called. In her remarks, she spoke of this time as a joyous time, for these people are enjoying themselves as they are resting and watching us sing today. For the sick and shut-ins, Jerry Enright led 454. Jerry spoke of being very fortunate of never being a “sick and shut-in”, but he had been lonely many times and we must let the sick and lonely know that we are thinking of them. The names of the shut-ins were: Catherine Cessna, Johnny Jeans, Allene Stanford, Samantha Redston, Mozelle and Jerry Sheppard, Barry Sullivan, Tom Davis, Harold Smith, Dollie Hudgins, Hazel Cagle, Elder Roy Avery, Talmadge Harris, Hayes Powell, and R. D. Saxon. The memorial was closed with prayer by Rev. Marshall Avery. Regular singing resumed and leaders were: Harvey Austin 335; Elene Stovall 556; Rev. Marshall Avery 74b; Kathleen Thro 142; Charlene Wallace 385b; Felton Denney 120; Myra Dalton 29b; Lou Cotney 189; Jimmy Denney 123 (t? b?).


The class was reassembled by B. M. Smith leading song on page 561 (?). Leaders: Jack Smith 40; Florence Williams 569 (t? b?); Lucille Gunnels 310; Kathleen Kuiper 299; Julia Vea 430; Pearl Guier and Ruth Brown 45t; Roy Nelson 108t; Judy Mincey 515b; Alice Edwards 72t; Evelyn Harris 129; Joan Durdin 159; B. J. Harris 445b; Don Bowen 270; Everette Denney 34b; Arthur Beckett 30b. A count of twelve states was represented here today. Announcements were made, and page 97 was led by B. M. Smith for the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer by Jack Smith.

Chairman—B. M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Secretary—Mary Florence Smith.