Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Crossroads Baptist Church

North of Tallapoosa, Georgia

Sunday, July 6, 2014

The 101st session of the Crossroads Baptist Church Sacred Harp singing and Decoration Day was held on the first Sunday in July. Cecil Roberts called the class to order, welcomed everyone, and then led 146. Miranel Swafford offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Cecil Roberts 35; Miranel Swafford 32t, 155; Donna Bell 426b, 129; Judy Chambless 37b, 29t; Eschol Hughes 100, 480.

A business session was held with the following officers retained or appointed: Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—Miranel Swafford; Secretary—Donna Bell; Arranging Officer—Judy Chambless.

Leaders: Tony Hammock 464, 430; Charlene Wallace 99, 299; B.M. Smith 138t, 111b; Robert Chambless 75, 163b; Rene Greene and Sheila Gaddy 297, 373; David Smead and John Smead 40, 32b; Karen Rollins 68b, 405.


Louis Hughes brought the class back to order leading 138b and 89 (for Allison Thompson). Leaders: Earlis McGraw 544, 312b; George Garner 383; Rebecca Over 197, 500; Oscar McGuire 137, 171.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Karen Rollins. She reminded us that the memorial lesson is not only a time to remember those who have gone on before us, but also a time for us to think about how we never know when our day will come. Karen Rollins led 339 in memory of the following deceased: Jeff Sheppard, Shelbie Sheppard, Hobert Ivey, Teenie Moody, Lou Cotney, Carlene Griffin, Bernard Denney, Mike Nunn, and Dr. Howard Cobble.

Oscar McGuire read the following list of names of the sick and shut-ins: Betty Wright, S.T. Reed, Evelyn Harris, Ruth Daniel, Nellie Mae White, Aline Harris, Calvin Warren, James Hughes, and Lucy Garner. He led 66 in their honor. Cecil Roberts closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Lisa Bennett 344, 479; Karen Clark 167, 77t; Robby Rivers 384, 49b; Winfred Kerr 45t, 282. Cecil Roberts offered the blessing before the noon meal at the table.


The afternoon session of singing began with Donna Bell leading 457 (in memory of Faye Wood). Leaders: Fallon Cook 421 (by request), 318; John Plunkett 325, 381; Hayden Arp 289, 340; Virginia Dyer and Chance Cook 192, 455, 274t (by request), 358 (by request); Lisa Bennett and David Smead 408; Rebecca Over and Hayden Arp 283; Charlene Griffin and Earlis McGraw 284; Cecil Roberts, Oscar McGuire, and Winfred Kerr 285t; Rene Greene, Fallon Cook, and Sheila Gaddy 478; Karen Clark and Donna Bell 472; Karen Rollins, B.M. Smith, and Eschol Hughes 380; Tony Hammock and John Plunkett 439; Miranel Swafford, Robert Chambless, and Judy Chambless 225t.

Announcements were made. Cecil Roberts, Miranel Swafford, and Oscar McGuire led 417 as the closing song. Rev. Wayne Morris offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—Miranel Swafford; Secretary—Donna Bell