Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Hopewell Primitive Baptist Church

Roopville, Georgia

Sunday, June 15, 2014

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Hopewell Primitive Baptist Church in Roopville, Georgia, was held on the third Sunday in June. The class was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Karen Rollins leading 32t and 340 (for Stanly Edwards). The opening prayer was offered by Mike Hinton. Philip Denney led 73t and 40.

The following officers were elected: Chairman—Karen Rollins; Vice Chairman—Philip Denney; Arranging Officer/Secretary—Judy Chambless.

Denney Rogers gave the financial report for the church.

Leaders: Judy Chambless 209; David Brodeur 202; Robert Chambless 81t; Marilyn Bradley 159; Cecil Roberts 312b; Jeannette DePoy 387; Erica Hinton 349; Fred Hoerr and Marty Hoerr 75; B.M. Smith 72b; Scott DePoy 277; Ted Brown 105; Mike Hinton 400; Margaret Gillanders 354t; Ian West 35; Anna Hinton 300; Donna Bell 500; Eli Hinton 65.


The children of Mr. and Mrs. Lonnie Rogers brought the class back to order leading 343 (in memory of their mother). Leaders: Richard Mauldin 341; Nathan Rees 39b (in memory of Hobert Ivey); Wade Kotter 101t; Paul Wyatt 100; Rebecca Over 347 (in memory of her father); Darrell Swarens and Margie Smith 389 (in memory of Lonnie Rogers); Helen Brown 436; Jonathan Smith 220; Emma Rose Brown 204.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Ted Brown and Helen Brown. Helen gave a talk honoring the sick and led 187 in honor of Earl Denney, Josephine Denney, Emmett Harrod, Verlyn Denney, George Garner, Lucy Garner, and Evelyn Harris.

Ted spoke on behalf of the deceased, and then led 338 and 358 in memory of Jeff Sheppard, Shelbie Sheppard, Mike Nunn, C.T. Williams, Teenie Moody, Helen Chambers, Carlene Griffin, Henry Hudgins, Lorie Shellnutt, Angie Sheppard, Rita Larkley, Tracie Cook, Videra Brown, Hobert Ivey, Bill Gillanders, June Denney Garrett, Amelia White Denney, Carroll Lunsford, Lou Cotney, and Mary Kitchens Gardner. Matt Hinton closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Aldo Ceresa 153; Charlene Wallace 155 (in memory of Carlene Griffin); Barry Rollins, Randa Harris, Susan Rice, Joe Lovvorn, and Roger Harrod 345t, 268; Matt Hinton 138t; Lauren Bock 401; Kacey Askin 143.


Philip Denney brought the class back to order leading 142. Leaders: Lisa Bennett 460; Karis Askin and Lauren Bock 178; Oscar McGuire 413; John Plunkett 329; David Smead 562; Lela Crowder 217; Malinda Snow 28b; Kathy Williams 464; Wyatt Denney 30b; Sheri Taylor 148; Ted Brown and Helen Brown 303 (in memory of Jeff and Shelbie Sheppard); Mike Hinton and Richard Mauldin 77t (in memory of Amanda Brady); Emma Rose Brown and Aldo Ceresa 498; Nathan Rees and Jonathan Smith 348b; Margaret Gillanders 318; Ian West 501; Wade Kotter and Darrell Swarens 507 (in memory of Josie Hyde); Paul Wyatt 284; Rebecca Over 527; Fred Hoerr and Marty Hoerr 480; Philip Denney and Karen Rollins 61 (in memory of Susan Muse).

After announcements, Karen Rollins and Philip Denney led 46 as the closing song. Matt Hinton offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Karen Rollins; Vice Chairman—Philip Denney; Secretary—Judy Chambless