Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

State Line Church

Near Muscadine, Cleburne County, Alabama

Saturday, April 12, 2014

The annual Sacred Harp singing held at State Line Church, off Hwy 78 at the Georgia/Alabama state line in Cleburne County, Alabama, was held on Saturday before the second Sunday in April. The class was called to order at 9:00 a.m. by Rodney Ivey leading 32t. The morning prayer was offered by Eddie Mash.

Leaders: B.M. Smith 36b; Judy Caudle 176t; Judy Chambless 531; Karen Rollins 489; Loyd Ivey 373; Eli Hinton 77t; Hayden Arp 204; Rene Greene 311; Margaret Thacker 452; Virginia Dyer 340; Anna Hinton 282; Mike Hinton 456; Wyatt Denney 442; Cheryl Foreman 498; Darrell Swarens 128; Pam Nunn 236; Eddie Mash 483; Sonny Erwin 493; Tony Hammock 430; Rick Foreman 385b; Chris Holley and Kathe Pilibosian 229; Scott Ivey 85; Ian Quinn 488; Laura Densmore 302.


Rodney Ivey led 72b to bring the class back together. A business session was held and the following officers were retained to serve: Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Vice Chairman—B.M. Smith; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Arranging Officer—Judy Chambless.

Leaders: Helen Bryson 492; Elene Stovall and Linda Thomas 534; Robert Chambless 84; Robert Rivers and Hugh McGraw 480; David Smead 163t; Joyce Walton 439; Henry Johnson 385t; Charlene Wallace and Sonny Erwin 155 (in memory of Carlene Griffin); Scott DePoy 108b; Jesse P. Karlsberg 216; Michael Thompson 316; Karis Askin and Wyatt Denney 277; Ed Thacker 131t; Winfred Kerr 146; David Brodeur 222; Lauren Bock 415; Bridgett Kennedy 37b; Fallon Cook 192.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Helen Bryson. Helen spoke about a life well lived. She read the poetry from the song “Mary” (page 498t WB), and then read the following list of names of the deceased: Lou Cotney, Bud Oliver, C.T. Williams, Jeff Sheppard, Shelbie Sheppard, Lessie Reed, Gertrude DeLong, Genny Whitworth, Chuck Caldwell, and Mike Nunn—Alabama; Jetha Brooks, Teenie Moody, Carlene Griffin, and Reuben Ball—Georgia; Evelyn Steinruck—Pennsylvania; Hugh Bill McGuire—Mississippi; Carroll Lunsford—California. She led 303 in their memory.

Helen read the following list of names of the sick and shut-ins: S.T. Reed, Evelyn Harris, Nellie Mae White, Alene Harris, Claudene Townson, Mona Nelson, Myrlene Redmon, Eugene Forbes, Hobert Ivey, Garrett Powell, and Lois Bowman. John Plunkett led 330b in their honor. Matt Hinton closed the memorial service with prayer. Mike Hinton offered the blessing before the noon meal at the table.


The afternoon session began with B.M. Smith leading 318. Leaders: Jack Nelson 180; Pam Nunn, Rene Greene, Virginia Dyer, and Fallon Cook 269 (in memory of Shelbie Sheppard and the Cates family); Keith Willard 34b; Terry Wootten 542; David Ivey 140 (for Daphene Causey); Jenny Willard 422; Jerry Creason 225t; Reba Windom 383; Sandra Wilkinson 125; Donna Bell 441; Shelby Castillo 217; Jeannette DePoy 328; John Plunkett 297; Kathy Williams 186; Nate Green and Norma Green 283; Angela Myers 500; Matt Hinton 365; Lisa Bennett 547.

Several Sacred Harp Publishing Company board members were present for the posthumous recognition of Jeff Sheppard and Shelbie Sheppard. Mike Hinton, President, explained the purpose of the recognition. Karen Rollins spoke about Jeff and Shelbie’s lifelong support of Sacred Harp through teaching and encouraging new singers. Jesse P. Karlsberg spoke of Jeff and Shelbie’s contributions to Camp FaSoLa. Kathy Williams spoke of her acquaintance with Jeff and Shelbie, and told a humorous story about them. Kathy Williams and Jesse P. Karlsberg presented the plaques of recognition to Pam Nunn and Rene Greene. Pam and Rene made comments, expressing their gratitude for the honor paid to their parents.

Leaders: Cecil Roberts 477; Sherrell Cleino 335; Drew McGuire 472 (in memory of Hugh Bill McGuire); John Kelso 142; Glenna Caldwell 267; Jamey Wootten 440; Louise Holland 137; Paula Picton 101t; Ann Simpson 445; Jessica Kelso 109.

Rodney Ivey, B.M. Smith, and Delone Cobbs led 347 as the closing song. Delone Cobbs offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Vice Chairman—B.M. Smith; Secretary—Judy Caudle