Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Higher Ground Singing

United Campus Ministries Center, Terre Haute, Indiana

Saturday, March 22, 2014

The 19th annual Higher Ground Singing was called to order by Darrell Swarens leading 36b. Terry Hogg offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Co-Chairpersons—Terry Hogg and Rebecca Eldridge; Arranging Officer—Janet Fraembs; Secretary—Darrell Swarens.

Leaders: Darrell Swarens and Terry Hogg 523; Terry Hogg 43; Janet Fraembs 217; Peggy Brayfield 479; William Shetter 28b; Wayne Dell 47b; Mary Yeomans 186; Joe Astrouski 146; Ray Rechenberg 40; Beth Garfinkel 496; Nate Zweig 497; Seth Mitter 31t; Grace Patterson 436; Len VanderJagt 270; Barbara VanderJagt 28t.


Terry Hogg called the class back to order leading 503. Leaders: Rebecca Eldridge 209; Michael Mosley 191; Jim Patterson 86; Virginia Eldridge 568; Joel Deckard 32t; Janelle Davis 148; Tom Morton 49b; Katherine Eldridge 145t; Sheila Patterson 73t; Tim Morton 300; Michele Cull 168; Laurel Cornell 178; Darrell Swarens, Rondrell Moore, and Joe Astrouski 236.


Rebecca Eldridge reassembled the class by leading 30t. Leaders: Peggy Brayfield 455; LaMar Schlabach 288; Beth Garfinkel 196; Ray Rechenberg 203; Grace Patterson 37b; Wayne Dell 235; Joel Deckard 499; William Shetter 546. The class was dismissed for lunch at local restaurants, and grace was offered by Darrell Swarens for the noon meal.


Terry Hogg led 535 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Janet Fraembs 335; Tom Morton 155; Carol Ann Munro 556; Tim Morton 389; Joan Aldridge 228; Sheila Patterson 401; Len VanderJagt 569b; Katherine Eldridge 418; LaMar Schlabach 68b.


Leaders: Michele Cull 268 (in memory of Bob Meek); Michael Mosley 340; Janelle Davis 145b. The memorial lesson was conducted by Peggy Brayfield and Darrell Swarens leading 475 and 163b. Terry Hogg closed the lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Beth Garfinkel 188; Seth Mitter 365; Darrell Swarens and Rebecca Eldridge 507 (in memory of Josie Hyde); Virginia Eldridge 570; Barbara VanderJagt 513; Mary Yeomans 159; Jim Patterson 547; Laurel Cornell 306; Chris Goodbeer 344; Ray Rechenberg 142; Terry Hogg 569t; Sheila Patterson 82t; Len VanderJagt 147t; Wayne Dell 277; Janelle Davis and Michele Cull 448t; Chris Goodbeer 276; Carol Ann Munro 192.

After announcements were made, Terry Hogg and Rebecca Eldridge led 347 as the closing song. Terry Hogg offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Co-Chairpersons—Terry Hogg and Rebecca Eldridge; Secretary—Darrell Swarens