Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Boiling Springs Convention

Mt. Zion Primitive Baptist Church, Ashland, Alabama

Saturday, November 9, 2013

The 147th session of the Boiling Springs Sacred Harp Convention was held on Saturday before the second Sunday in November at Mt. Zion Primitive Baptist Church, Ashland, Alabama. The class was called to order by Eugene Forbes leading 75 and 32t. The opening prayer was offered by Ed Thacker.

The class elected the following officers: Chairman—Eugene Forbes; Vice Chairman—Jack Nelson; Secretary—Jenny Acton; Arranging Officer—Edna Ruth Phillips; Memorial Lesson—Richard Mauldin.

Leaders: Eugene Forbes 101t; Judy Chambless 142, 186; B.M. Smith 354t, 340; Robert Chambless 176b, 66; Hubert Nall 448b, 448t; Richard Mauldin 378t, 379; Tom Ingram 127, 68b; Jacob Acton 373, 282; Margaret Thacker 147b, 317; Rene Greene 542, 276; Jack Nelson 42, 95.


Jack Nelson led 45t to bring the class back together. Leaders: Ed Thacker 87, 446 (in memory of Jeff Sheppard); Zilpha Cornett 480, 122 (in memory of Mary Kitchens Gardner); Margie Smith 108t, 405; Jenny Acton 108b, 25; Cecil Roberts 58, 35; Ann Gray 128, 203; Wendy Futral and Robby 100, 98; Nate Green 312b, 347.

Richard Mauldin led 285t for the following sick and shut-ins: Mary Frances Forbes, Susan Cherones, Toney Smith, LaVoy Smith, Shelbie Sheppard, Stanley Smith, Wendell Wakefield, Floy Wilder, Jerry Kitchens, Charles Kitchens, Lou Cotney, Myrline Redmon, Lois Bowman, Evelyn Harris, and Betty Wright.

Richard spoke and led 339 in memory of the following deceased: Jeff Sheppard, Bud Oliver, Elder Bufrey Dean, Lessie Reed, Pernie Pelfrey, Josie Hyde, Myrtle Ann Beasley, Leona Haynes, and Mary Kitchens Gardner—Alabama; Clayton Ezell—Tennessee; Teenie Moody—Georgia. The memorial service was closed with prayer.

Audress Gurley, Marelyn Johnson, Jenny Acton, and Haley Baker led 36b and 45t. The class recognized the Sheppard family for all they have done for the singing community over the years.


Eugene Forbes led 48t to begin the afternoon session. Leaders: Lori Hinesley and Eugene Forbes 172; Lori Hinesley 143; Virginia Futral 569b, 145b; Margaret Ray 452, 318; William Futral and Wendy Futral 341, 34t; Mr. Morris 235; Mr. Morris and Richard Mauldin 146; Eugene Forbes and Haley Baker 45t; Sheppard family 464. Jack Nelson and Eugene Forbes led 188 from Lloyd’s Hymnal.

Announcements were made. Eugene Forbes led 46 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Elder Morris.

Chairman—Eugene Forbes; Vice Chairman—Jack Nelson; Secretary—Jenny Acton