Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Hyde Park Singing

Augustana Lutheran Church, Hyde Park, Chicago, Illinois

Saturday, November 2, 2013

The 15th annual University of Chicago/Hyde Park All-Day Singing was brought to order at 9:30 a.m. by Ginny Landgraf leading 59. Jim Swanson offered the opening prayer. This singing uses both the 1991 Denson edition of the Sacred Harp and the Missouri Harmony (MH).

Leaders: Michael Mosley 101t; Martha Beverly 171; Jim Swanson 274t; Nate Zweig 40 (MH); Micah Sommersmith 276; Will Fitzgerald 151 (MH); Karen Swenson 103 (MH); Randy Neufeld 29t; Bill Beverly 68 (MH); Jim Helke 20 (MH); Darrell Swarens 111b; JoDell Albi 211; Dave Barford 148 (MH); Ted Mercer 74 (MH); Carol Ann Munro 145 (MH); Nick Pasqual 58; Debbie Barford 163b; Rachel Adelstein 268; Michael Appert 277; Susan Geil 177 (MH); Lisa Grayson 113 (MH).

A business meeting was held with the following officers elected or appointed: Chairman—Rachel Adelstein; Secretary—Ginny Landgraf; Arranging Officer—Mary Rogel; Finance Committee—Anne Heider and Steve Warner; Chaplain—Jim Swanson.


Ginny Landgraf brought the class back together by leading 501. Leaders: Jeff Breting and Bill Beverly 19 (MH); Janelle Davis 145b; Dan Nickel 56b; Barbara Shelly and Will Fitzgerald 48t; James Page 69 (MH); Steve Warner 475; Randy Neufeld 99; Anne Heider 532; Martha Beverly and Barbara McCann 299; Nate Zweig 44 (MH); Micah Sommersmith 157; Will Fitzgerald 168 (MH); Karen Swenson 180 (MH); Bill Beverly 348t.


Mary Rogel led 183 to bring the class together. Leaders: Jim Swanson 121 (MH); Judy Hauff 98 (MH); Kris Richardson 217; Melanie Hauff 306; Darrell Swarens 507 (in memory of Josie Hyde); JoDell Albi 84 (MH); Dave Barford 280; Jim Helke, Tameem Imamdad, and Andrey Danilkovich 196; Carol Ann Munro 556; Debbie Barford 260; Michael Appert 127 (MH); Susan Geil 344; Michael Mosley 464; Lisa Grayson 45 (MH). Jim Swanson offered the blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Jeff Breting leading 47t. Leaders: Ted Mercer 391; Ann Sleeva 422; Nick Pasqual 11 (MH); Anna Gustafson 108b; James Page 231; Janelle Davis and Jeff Breting 448t; Erica DeTemmerman and Jim Swanson 146; Steve Warner and Hayden McDuffee 84; Anne Heider 234; Judy Hauff 411; Martha Beverly 138 (MH); Nate Zweig 318; Ann Sleeva 479; Melanie Hauff 216; Jeff Breting 163t; Karen Swenson 236; Rochelle Lodder 13 (MH); Micah Sommersmith and Peng Jiao 178.


Carol Ann Munro brought the class back to order by leading 192. Leaders: Bill Beverly 546; Will Fitzgerald 448b; Darrell Swarens 208; James Page 139 (MH); Rochelle Lodder 167 (MH); JoDell Albi 162 (MH); Debbie Barford 181; Michael Appert 29b; Dave Barford 147t; Susan Geil 369.

Announcements were made. The Finance Committee reported that expenses had been met. The Secretary reported that eighty-two songs were led by forty-two leaders from five states. Charles Whitmer of Texas was recognized for donating a box of Sacred Harp loaner books to the Hyde Park singing group.

Rachel Adelstein, Ginny Landgraf, Mary Rogel, and Jim Swanson led 347 as the closing song, while those who wished took the parting hand. Jim Swanson offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Rachel Adelstein; Secretary—Ginny Landgraf