Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Alewine-Laminack Memorial Singing

St. Michael Lutheran Church, Cleburne County, Alabama

Sunday, April 28, 2013

The annual Alewine-Laminack Memorial singing was held on the fourth Sunday in April. Cecil Roberts welcomed everyone, and then brought the class to order leading 60. The morning prayer was offered by Jack Nelson.

Leaders: Cecil Roberts 35; B.M. Smith 101t, 138t; Donna Bell 129 (in memory of Corine Laminack), 142; Ed Thacker 493 (for all the Laminack, Alewine, Edwards, Kerr, and McElroy families), 530; Virginia Dyer 63, 47t; Henry Johnson 288, 289; Agnes Roberts 358 (in memory of her grandmother, Laura Cagle Laminack), 143; Jack Nelson 475, 500.


B.M. Smith brought the class back to order leading 225t. A business session was held with the following officers retained: Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—B.M. Smith; Secretary—Donna Bell; Arranging Officer—Margie Smith.

Leaders: Judy Chambless 186, 146; Buell Cobb 80b, 92; Joyce Heath 31t, 276; Margaret Thacker 46, 39b; Robert Chambless 317, 303; Karen Rollins 406, 227; Charlene Wallace 40, 99; Jeff Sheppard 75, 81t; Rene Greene 542, 171.


The singing resumed with Buell Cobb leading 111t. Leaders: Earlis McGraw 435, 166; Fallon Cook 192, 340 (for Lisa Robinson); Evelyn Harris 378t, 155; John Plunkett 154, 321; Sarah Roberts 59, 108t; Margie Smith 405.

Cecil Roberts thanked the class for $455. 00, and asked that the amount be noted in the minutes. The money will be used for the upkeep of the church and cemetery. Lutheran services have not been held at the church for approximately 70 (t? b?) to 80 years. Cecil Roberts and singers thanked the McElroy family for their faithfulness in maintaining the church and cemetery. Ed Thacker offered the blessing of the noon meal at the table.


The afternoon session of singing began with Cecil Roberts leading 312b (in honor of Jeanette Laminack and Lois Bowman). Leaders: Judy Chambless 196; John Plunkett 197; Rene Greene 200; Ed Thacker 441; Agnes Roberts 120; Robert Chambless 163b (in memory of Bud Oliver and to all the people that would have liked to be at the singing, but couldn’t attend); Margaret Thacker 480; Jeff Sheppard 91; Joyce Heath 77b; Virginia Dyer 294 (for Stephen McElroy); Henry Johnson 55; Charlene Wallace 79; Jack Nelson 400 (for Eugene Forbes); Fallon Cook and Cain Cook 47b; Earlis McGraw 148.

Following announcements, Cecil Roberts and B.M. Smith led 56t as the closing song. Henry Johnson offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—B.M. Smith; Secretary—Donna Bell