Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Middle Georgia Sacred Harp Singing

Union Primitive Baptist Church, Johnstonville, Georgia

Saturday, April 20, 2013

The 10th annual Middle Georgia Sacred Harp Singing was held on Saturday before the third Sunday in April at the Union Primitive Baptist Church in Johnstonville, Georgia. A brief introduction to Sacred Harp was taught by John Plunkett prior to the singing. Harry Eskew called the class to order leading 34b. John Hollingsworth offered the morning prayer.

A business session was held with the following officers retained to serve: Chairman—Harry Eskew; Vice Chairman—John Plunkett; Secretary—Helen Bryson; Arranging Officer—John Plunkett. This singing will be held in 2014 at the Union Primitive Baptist Church, Johnstonville, Georgia.

Leaders: John Plunkett 49b; Helen Bryson 418; Chloe Webb 288; Wesley Haley 300; Wayne Watson 480; Martha Allman 405; Erica Hinton 111b; Rita Haley 63; Rosemund Watson 34t; David Grant 153; Matt Hinton 112; Jeannette DePoy 142; John Hollingsworth 186; Judy Mincey 270 (in memory of Bud Oliver); Malinda Snow 217 (in memory of Shirley Dumas); Charles Woods 40 (dedicated to his wife, Arlene); Anna Hinton 282; Bill Hollingsworth 91; Robert Chambless 72b; Oscar McGuire 155 (for the California singers); Eli Hinton 268; Judy Chambless 472; Mary Brownlee 556; Mike Spencer 113; Cathy Willis 231; Charlene Wallace 171; Harry Eskew 503 (for Lloyd Landrum).


Harry Eskew brought the class back to order leading 146. Leaders: John Plunkett 115; Helen Bryson 454; Chloe Webb 87; Wesley Haley 384; Martha Allman 298; Erica Hinton 105; Rita Haley 128; Rosemund Watson 149; David Grant 166. Elder Ed Evans of Union Primitive Baptist Church welcomed the singers, and offered remarks. Leaders: Matt Hinton 99; John Hollingsworth 460; Judy Mincey 474; Malinda Snow 378t; Charles Woods 147t; Bill Hollingsworth 489; Robert Chambless 225t; Oscar McGuire 441; Mary Brownlee 47b; Mike Spencer 354t; Charlene Wallace 159; Nancy Wheless 457; Sharon Hamrick 276.

Following announcements, Harry Eskew led 323t as the closing song. Elder Ed Evans offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Harry Eskew; Vice Chairman—John Plunkett; Secretary—Helen Bryson