Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Texas State Sacred Harp Convention

Coker United Methodist Church, San Antonio, Texas

February 23-24, 2013

Saturday, February 23

The 21st annual Texas State Sacred Harp Singing Convention was held at the Coker United Methodist Church in San Antonio, Texas. Janie Short called the class to order leading 276. Gaylon Powell offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Janie Short 350; Gaylon Powell 228; Tammy Powell 503; Mike Hinton 456; Vickie Cook 178; Reed Coates 82t; Amy Peveto 326; Tom Owen 327; Pete Mathewson 489; Diane Ross 430; Rich Lee 441; Connie Stanton 344; Gary Rogan 418; Beverly Coates 107; Darrell Swarens 208; Zach Rogan 300; Silas Huckaby 421; Rodney Ivey 383; Jo Pendleton 452; J.T. Harechmak 234; Dave Barford 280.


Janie Short called the class back to order by leading135. Leaders: Sonny Erwin 501; Kristie Powell 65; Daryl Chesney 454; Bruce Coates 540; Ben Copenhaver 292; Anna Pfau 564; Katie Mahoney 399t; Morris Nelms 36t; Ron Trial 46; Leon Ballinger 269; Lori Rodgers 47t; Jackson Fleder 460; Crystal Meadows 442; Catherine Rogan 434; Judy Caudle 528; Sarah Huckaby 74b; Cassie Allen 328; Eddie Mash 470; Garrett Powell 376; Linda Booker 569b; Ted Mercer 468; Ron Ryan 502; Vivian Rogan 163b; Angela Myers 112. Keith Hazeltine offered the noon prayer.


Gaylon Powell called the afternoon session to order by leading 144. Leaders: Bill Bailey 108t; Scott Curran 500; Steve Helwig 477; Michele Curran 196; Chris Nicholson 34b; Greg Bowles 332; Gayle Avant 49t; Don Ross 464; Debbie Barford 163t; Kevin Powell 200; Erica Martinez 472; Micah Rodgers 542; Cheyenne Ivey 84; Amanda Bowles 99; Becca Short 45t; Olivia Powell 236; Tollie Lee 319; Sara Deturk 198; Tamara Harris 573.

The following committees were appointed: Memorial Committee—Scott Curran and Michele Curran; Nominating Committee—Kristie Powell, Cassie Allen, and Bill Bailey.


Janie Short called the class together by leading 270. Leaders: Reed Coates 546; Pete Mathewson 565; Rich Lee 30t; Beverly Coates 547; Jo Pendleton 479; J.T. Harechmak 384; Katie Mahoney 406; Bruce Coates 48t; Morris Nelms 192; Crystal Meadows 183; Greg Bowles 299; Sara Huckaby 186; Gayle Avant 569t; Amanda Bowles 159; Ron Trial 474; Darrell Swarens 72b; Anna Pfau 77t; Daryl Chesney 314; Ted Mercer 352; Jackson Fleder 390.

Janie Short led 31t as the closing song. Morris Nelms offered the closing prayer.

Sunday, February 24

The Sunday session of the Texas State Convention was called to order by Janie Short leading 312b. Leon Ballinger offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Dave Collette 314; Gaylon Powell 411; Tammy Powell 542; Mike Hinton 318; Vickie Cook 86; Jeb Owen 273; Steve Helwig 498; Michele Curran 67; Rodney Ivey 30b; Kristie Powell 385b; Eddie Mash and Cassie Allen 512; Jackson Owen 325; Judy Caudle 365; Amy Peveto 122; Gary Rogan 209; Erica Martinez 522; Leon Ballinger 313b; Liz Owen 546; Debbie Barford 171; Rick Foreman 50b; Riley Owen 40.


Janie Short called the class back together by leading 378t. Leaders: Sonny Erwin, Rodney Ivey, and Darrell Swarens 111b; Dave Barford 480; Vivian Rogan 215; Linda Booker 494; Connie Stanton 87; Tamara Harris 434; Chris Nicholson 490; Angela Myers 220; Lauren Owen 40; Olivia Powell 85; Scott Curran 532; Tollie Lee 108t; Ron Ryan 168; Ben Copenhaver 524; Darrell Swarens 36b; Catherine Rogan 182; Diane Ross 358.

A memorial lesson was held. Michele Curran led 472 for the following sick and shut-ins: Jane Goforth, Doris Hanks, Jr., Marie Smith, Lawson Smith, Myrl Jones, Mark Webb, Barbara Willard, Rodney Willard, Jerry Rollins, Mary Martin, Doris Martin, Andy Worthington, Dan Buswell, Anita Buswell, Josie Hyde, Floy Wilder, Henry Guthery, S.T. Reed, Lessie Reed, Bud Oliver, Sammie Oliver, Betty Wright, and Eloise Wootten.

Scott Curran spoke and led 30b for the following deceased: Harrison Creel, Charles Creel, Behula Harris, and Arnold Evans-Alabama; Joyce Furumo, Edith Keele, and Carl Huyser- Wisconsin; Mary Wood, Lee Steinmetz, and Charles Pietri-Illinois; Father Ronald Baker and Leland Owen-Texas. Jeb Owen offered the closing prayer for the memorial service.

Leaders: Ted Mercer 165; Cassie Allen 558; Bill Bailey 451; Anna Pfau 362; Daryl Chesney 155; Janie Short 56t (for the cooks). Eddie Mash offered the noon prayer.


Gaylon Powell led 100 to begin the afternoon session. A business meeting was held. The following officers were elected to serve for next year: Chairman—Gaylon Powell, Vice Chairman—Mike Hinton, Secretary—Tammy Powell; Treasurer—Rick Foreman.

Leaders: Tom Owen 462; Jackson Fleder 283; Ron Trial 112; Cheyenne Ivey 166; Lori Rodgers 503; Zach Rogan 56b; Micah Rodgers 178; Kevin Powell 448t; Becca Short 47b; Josiah Webb 101t; Sara Deturk 344; Riley Owen 58; Dave Barford 274t; Erica Martinez 189; Debbie Barford 181; Liz Owen 454; Judy Caudle 389; Eddie Mash 279; Connie Stanton 217; Angela Myers 270; Rodney Ivey and Tom Owen 39t; Steve Helwig and Kristie Powell 505; Tamara Harris 410b; Jeb Owen 440; Cheyenne Ivey, Micah Rodgers, and Josiah Webb 172; Ben Copenhaver 218; Anna Pfau 290; Catherine Rogan 137; Jackson Fleder 34t; Amy Peveto 63; Ron Trial and Gaylon Powell 250; Darrell Swarens 501; Ted Mercer 291; Zach Rogan 37b.

Announcements were made. Janie Short led 68b as the closing song. Mike Hinton offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Janie Short; Vice Chairman—Gaylon Powell; Secretary pro tem—Tammy Powell