Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cates-Brown Memorial Singing

Methodist Church, Muscadine, Alabama

Sunday, October 14, 2012

The annual Sacred Harp singing was convened at 9:30 a.m. on the second Sunday in October by Jeff Sheppard leading 57. This singing is a memorial singing named for Walker Cates and Herbert Brown, longtime supporters of this singing. Since this is a memorial singing, singers were encouraged to remember others during their lessons. The opening prayer was offered by Cecil Roberts.

Leaders: Cecil Roberts 49b (in memory of B.J. Harris), 48t; Robert Chambless 77t, 163b; Karen Rollins 317, 318; Margie Smith 101t, 512.

The class went into a business session and the following officers were elected: Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Vice Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Arranging Officer/Secretary—Pam Nunn.

Leaders: Bert Collins and Glenda Collins 124, 45t; Tony Hammock 303, 138b; Donna Bell 68b, 426b; Evelyn Harris 378t (for her sister, Ruth Daniels), 155.


The class was reconvened by Cecil Roberts leading 32t. Leaders: Oscar McGuire 276, 441; Jeannette DePoy 414 (in memory of her parents and mother-in-law), 300 (in honor of Cathy White); B.M. Smith 82t, 270; Jack Nelson 518, 480; Judy Chambless 34t (in memory of Bobby Jackson), 499; Lou Cotney 358, 218; Virginia Dyer and Chance Cook 192, 63; JoAnn Ward and Donna Bell 47b; David Brodeur 475, 299; John Plunkett 225t, 354t; Sharon DuPriest 208, 313t; Fallon Cook 146, 340. Cecil Roberts offered the blessing.


Cecil Roberts called the class to order leading 547. Leaders: Ann Simpson 452, 445; Rene Greene 228, 350; Charlene Wallace 129, 145t, 145b; Shelbie Sheppard 148, 164 (for Nick and Carlene Griffin); David Brodeur 472; Oscar McGuire 229; Jeannette DePoy 99; Sharon DuPriest 269; Robert Chambless 66; Lou Cotney 222; Jack Nelson 551; Margie Smith 50t; Tony Hammock 111b; Judy Chambless 107; B.M. Smith 389 (in memory of Lonnie Rogers); Ann Simpson 388; Fallon Cook 37b; Donna Bell 454 (in memory of LaRue Allen); Rene Greene and Pam Nunn 200.

Announcements were made. The closing prayer was offered by Jack Nelson.

Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Vice Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Secretary—Pam Nunn