Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Wall Memorial Singing - Glencoe Senior Citizen Center

Glencoe, Alabama (near Gadsden)

March 16, 1997

The annual Wall Memorial Sacred Harp Singing was held at Glencoe Senior Citizen Center on the third Sunday in March. The class was called to order by Bud Oliver leading songs on pages 32t and 59. The morning prayer was led by Billy J. Harris.

Leaders: Bud Oliver 31b; Hershell King 112, 80b; Lonnie Rogers 225t, 560; Freeman Wootten 283; Linda Thomas 43; Marshall Avery 159, 106; Martha Woodard 335; Lawrence Underwood and Lula Underwood 275b, 300; Jenny Gurley 340, 143; Lloyd Ivey 47t, 426t; Leola Smith 318; Allison Ivey 134, 460; B. J. Harris 490, 503.


Bud Oliver called the class to order leading song on page 42.

A business session was held and the following officers were elected or appointed: Chairman—Bud Oliver; Vice Chairman—Hershell King; Secretary—Shelbie Sheppard; Arranging Committee—Cindy Franklin. Leaders: Jimmie Denney 87, 101t; Shelley Capps 100; Shelley Capps and Cassie Franklin 405; J. A. Mosley 282; Judy Mincey 198; Don Bowen 178, 66; Genny Whitworth 120; Norma Latham 78; Kyle Blakeley 313t, 31t; Henry Johnson 338; Pearl Guier 49t, 40; Everette Denney 72b, 186; Edith Tate 73t; Thurman Nall 34b; Hazel Brothers 145b; Bill Green 423; Rhoda Norris 276; B. M. Smith 273, 284 (for Margie Smith). A prayer for the blessing of the food was given by Elwin Thomas.


Bud Oliver brought the class to order after lunch by leading song on page 155. Leaders: Terry Wootten 359, 129; Evelyn Harris 146; Lamar Smith 36b; Gavin Blakely 128; Flarce Creel 475; Jewel Wootten 384; Eugene Forbes 566, 480; Wanda Capps 411; Jeff Sheppard 236; Eloise Avery 39b, 35; Chita Blakeley 542, 101t; Louis Hughes 410t, 91 (for I. V. McWhorter); Harvey Austin 108t; Pam Nunn 224, 216.


Hershell King brought the class to order leading song on page 97. Leaders: David Ivey 448b; Carmon Brothers 175; Ann Jett 436; Vera Blakeley and Waylon Blakeley 168; Cecil Edwards 121; Milton Oliver 222; Helen Lambert 441; Edna Phillips 200; Harrison Creel 111b; Rene Greene 196; Roy Nelson 434; Cassie Franklin 110; S. T. Reed 388; Shelbie Sheppard and Louise Nelson 145t; Cindy Franklin 123t. Announcements were made. Bud Oliver and Hershell King led song on page 62 for the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer by Hershell King.

Chairman—Bud Oliver; Vice Chairman—Hershell King; Secretary—Shelbie Sheppard.