Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Walker County Convention

New Hope Primitive Baptist Church, Walker County, Alabama

Saturday, July 14, 2012

The 98th session of the Walker County Convention was held at New Hope Primitive Baptist Church on Saturday before the third Sunday in July. The class was called to order by Glenn Keeton leading 59. The opening prayer was offered by Richard Mauldin.

In a business session, the following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Vice Chairman—Velton Chafin; Secretary—Brenda Chafin; Chaplain—Richard Mauldin; Arranging Officer—Don Keeton.

Leaders: Glenn Keeton 32t; Judy Caudle 314, 336; Richard Mauldin 84, 35; Brenda Chafin 76b, 97; Linda Sides, Mr. and Mrs. E.T. Swafford, and Dorothy Steadman 63, 328; Elene Stovall 182, 292; Don Keeton 477, 499; Rebecca Over 61, 318; Bea Carnathan and Joye Leggett 283, 568; Velton Chafin 463, 573; Larry Ballinger 528, 527.


The class was brought back to order by Glenn Keeton leading 457. Leaders: Tim Whittaker 480, 460; Katy Kanfer 325, 491; Angela Myers 564, 425; Beth Branscome 565, 222; Juanita Beasley 31b, 39b; Butch White and Kenny Graves 30b, 86.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Linda Sides and Judy Caudle.

Linda Sides spoke on behalf of the deceased and the sick and shut-ins.

Judy Caudle read the following list of names of the sick and shut-ins: Josie Hyde, Johnnie Chafin, Bud Oliver, Sammie Oliver, Paula Springfield, S.T. Reed, Lessie Reed, Jeff Sheppard, Shelbie Sheppard, Charlie Ballard, Ann Ballard, Wynell Sanders, Charlotte Gober, and Estelle Gilmore. Judy and Linda led 445 in their honor.

Judy Caudle read the following list of names of the deceased: Travis Keeton, Marie Ivey, Clarence McCool, Julietta Haynes, Lonnie Rogers, John Merritt, Fred Whitaker, Alice Fahrbach, Harrison Creel, Cecil Sanders, and Ernie Jett. Judy and Linda led 285t in their memory. Richard Mauldin closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Philip Gilmore 348b, 278b; Jim Aaron 68b, 503; Mike Hankins 410t, 72b; Joye Leggett 358. Richard Mauldin offered the blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Glenn Keeton leading 349. Leaders: Lisa Geist 391, 120; Lena Keeton 497, 546; B.M. Smith 340, 389; Hubert Nall 36b, 287; Amber Davis, Carson Davis, and Claire Davis 82t, 380 (for Paula Springfield); Emily Burleson 37b, 485; Lela Aaron 64, 274t; Margie Smith 101t, 225t; Marlin Beasley 270, 434; Henry Guthery 456, 558; Tommie Spurlock 430, 137; Aubrey Barfield 269, 220; Anita Landess 379; Stanley Smith 396, 411; Don Keeton 212 (by request); Glenn Keeton 498, 475 (for Willodean Barton).

Following announcements, Glenn Keeton led 507 (for Josie Hyde) as the closing song. Richard Mauldin offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Vice Chairman—Velton Chafin; Secretary—Brenda Chafin