Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Crossroads Baptist Church

North of Tallapoosa, Georgia

Sunday, July 1, 2012

The 99th annual Sacred Harp singing and Decoration Day at Crossroads Baptist Church, north of Tallapoosa, was held on the first Sunday in July. Cecil Roberts called the class to order leading 48t. Eschol Hughes offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Cecil Roberts 49t; Miranel Swafford 115; Donna Bell 441 (in memory of Mary Florence Smith); Louis Hughes, Jr. 208.

A business session was held and the class voted to retain the following officers: Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—Miranel Swafford; Secretary—Donna Bell; Arranging Committee—Louis Hughes, Jr. A motion was made to change the meeting time to 9:30 a.m. The motion carried. Next year’s singing will begin at 9:30 a.m. The business session was closed.

Leaders: B.M. Smith 101t, 66; George Garner 168; Judy Chambless 527, 540; Hayden Arp 32t, 282; Joyce Walton 456 (for Michael Thompson); Karen Rollins 354t, 354b; Tom Ivey 565, 380; Karen Clark 234, 421; Sharon Strong 250; 38t.


Louis Hughes, Jr. called the class to order leading 49b. Leaders; Fred Hoerr 313b, 47t; Michael Walker 207, 137; Ian Quinn 228; Ian Quinn and Joyce Walton 57; Robert Chambless 163b; 84; Louis Hughes, Sr. and Louis Hughes, Jr. 138b (in memory of J.C. Hughes).

Karen Rollins and Michael Walker conducted the memorial lesson. Karen spoke about the subject of death and asked the question “Have you thought about death this week?” Continuing, she noted that in our society we normally don’t think about mortality. Karen stated that the memorial part of each singing probably began as a time to remember the Sacred Harp singers that have gone on before us and to serve as a lesson in how we want to be remembered. Karen Rollins led 389 in memory of the following deceased: Mae and Lee Sloman, Lonnie Rogers, Martha Williams, Nick Griffin, Euzeal Wood, Joan Fritz, Homer Hulsey, Harrison Creel, Jeanne Schaffer, Dr. Julietta Haynes, and Marie Ivey.

Michael Walker spoke for the sick and shut-ins. He mentioned that one never knows when they will be struck with illness and it is important to recognize the support of community and the role they play as caregivers. Michael also mentioned that we should try to understand the burden of caregivers and to remember them and their families in our hearts, too. He led 41 in honor of the following: Carlene Griffin, Teenie Moody, Inez Woodall, Johnny Pope, Charlotte Walker, Don Walker, Lois Bowman, Lucy Garner, Bud Oliver, Sammie Oliver, S.T. Reed, and Lessie Reed. Cecil Roberts closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Jan Ketelle 73t, 300; Eschol Hughes 348b, 283; Richard DeLong 44, 36t; Jane Spencer 196, 213t; Earlis McGraw 329, 544. Michael Walker blessed the noon meal at the table.


The singing convened with Donna Bell, Tranice Garner, and Greg Garner leading 383. Leaders: John Plunkett 32b, 29t; Anita Landess 77b, 102; Fallon Cook and Cain Cook 146, 68b; Curtis Hamrick 192, 77t; Evelyn Harris 30t, 303 (in memory of Billy Joe Harris); Tom Ivey 547; Sharon Strong 502; Michael Walker 447; Jan Ketelle 464 (for Jeff and Shelbie Sheppard); Ian Quinn 494; Karen Clark 534; Fred Hoerr 38b; Jane Spencer and Michael Walker 191; Judy Chambless 501; Hayden Arp 340; Robert Chambless 225t; Anita Landess 56t; Paige Harrod and Karen Rollins 405 (in memory of Lonnie Rogers).

Following announcements, Cecil Roberts and Miranel Swafford led 46 as the closing song. Elder Travis Warren, pastor of the church, offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—Miranel Swafford; Secretary—Donna Bell