Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Northwest London Sacred Harp Singing

St. Mary’s Church and Parish Centre,
Willesden, London, United Kingdom

Saturday, September 24, 2011

The 4th annual Northwest London Sacred Harp Singing was called to order by Michael Walker leading 77b. Hannah Land offered the morning prayer. Michael welcomed everyone.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Michael Walker; Arranging Committee—Judy Whiting, Chris Brown, Ian West, and Sarah West; Secretary—Rebecca Over.

Leaders: Rebecca Over 61; Jacqui Selby-Macleod 131b; Ted Brown 47t; Judy Whiting 492: Sharon Langridge 159; Sarah West 86; Nick Hall 527; Hannah Land 142; Eric Saylor 74b; Pete Eiseman-Renyard 84; Chris Brown 82t; Steve Fletcher 131t; Tollie Lee 565; Rachel Jordan 48t; Jan Lawrence 38t; Ian West 145t; Michael Walker 205; Sharon Langridge 143; Nick Hall 494; Judy Whiting 71; Eric Saylor 551.


Rebecca Over called the class back together by leading 53. Leaders: Sarah West 370; Céline Van Damme and Tollie Lee 47b; Jacqui Selby-Macleod 32t; Ted Brown 108t; Eric Saylor 375; Pete Eiseman-Renyard 49t; Hannah Land 399t; Chris Brown 102; Steve Fletcher 376; Rachel Jordan 501; Jan Lawrence 171; Ian West 287; Tollie Lee 388; Nick Hall 515; Rebecca Over 220; Eric Saylor 168; Sharon Langridge 36b; Jacqui Selby-Macleod 134; Michael Walker 371; Sarah West 430; Ted Brown 111b; Hannah Land 367; Chris Brown 28b; Pete Eiseman-Renyard 186.


Ian West brought the afternoon session together by leading 270. Leaders: Margaret Gillanders 542; Helen Brown 422; Tollie Lee 278b; Steve Fletcher 278t; Nick Hall 452; Judy Whiting 386; Jan Lawrence 141; Rachel Jordan 464; Chris Brown 298; Helen Brown 517; Michael Walker 216; Sarah West 80t; Margaret Gillanders 187; Ted Brown 77t; Rebecca Over 381; Hannah Land 503.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Neil Rogers. The following deceased were remembered: Stan Reeve—Fulbourn; Joyce Over—Camberley; Ray Fisher—Glasgow; Joan Sillito—Raglan; Mike Waterson—Robin Hood’s Bay; John Champkin—Tenbury Wells; Linda Champ—Winchester; Glynne Williams—Cardiff; Charles Breslin, Philip Hill, Garry Jenkins and David Powell—miners from Gleision drift mine, Swansea Valley; the mother and five children, who died in a house fire in Neasden, London; Marie Ivey, Travis Keeton, and Demetrius Jones—Alabama USA; George Holland—Georgia USA. Jan Lawrence led 339 in their memory.

The sick and housebound lesson was conducted by Steve Fletcher and Martin Williams. The following sick and housebound were remembered: Jon Lusk, Mandy Holland, Helen Bushell, Catherine Atkinson, Kit Vishnick, Marjorie Franks, Joan Swift, Kathy Armstrong, Seamus McGuigan, Brian Butcher, Sylvia Swann, Bill Whaley, Norma Waterson, Maureen Gamlin, Jeff and Shelbie Sheppard, Judy Chambless, and Lonnie Rogers. Steve Fletcher led 411 for them. Ted Brown offered prayer, and the memorial and sick and housebound lessons were closed.

Leader: Jacqui Selby-Macleod 163b.


Sharon Langridge called the class back together by leading 99. Leaders: Judy Whiting 354t; Ian West 101b; Rachel Jordan 566; Helen Brown 365; Tollie Lee 319; Margaret Gillanders 472; Chris Brown 324; Jan Lawrence 474; Nick Hall 497; Sarah West 76b; Michael Walker 421; Ted Brown 97; Rebecca Over 208; Hannah Land 318; Steve Fletcher 128; Jacqui Selby-Macleod 347; Sharon Langridge 496; Rachel Jordan 209; Helen Brown 30b; Margaret Gillanders 569b; Tollie Lee and Céline Van Damme 45t.

Announcements were made. Michael Walker thanked all those whose work had made the singing possible. Michael Walker led 62, and the class took the parting hand. Catherine McArdle offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Michael Walker; Secretary—Rebecca Over