Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Dutch Treat Singing

Shady Grove Church, Winston County, Alabama

January 5, 1997

The annual Sacred Harp Dutch Treat Singing was held at Shady Grove Primitive Baptist Church in Winston County on the first Sunday in January. The class was called to order by Travis Keeton leading song on page 30t. The morning prayer was led by Harrison Creel. The class was organized by electing the following officers: Chairman—Travis Keeton; Vice Chairman—Kermit Adams; Secretary—Pernie Pelfrey; Arranging Committee—John Hyde and Larry Ballinger. Travis Keeton led song on page 268.

A business session was held to elect officers for the radio program, “The Sacred Harp Hour”, at Houston, Mississippi. Officers elected were: President—Cynthia Franklin; First Vice President—Travis Keeton; Second Vice President—Larry Ballinger; Third Vice President—Lena Wakefield; Secretary and Treasurer—Johnny Humber.

Leaders: Larry Ballinger 89; Dr. Doyle Williams 85, 99; Cynthia Franklin 123t, 157; Edith Tate 37b, 137; Ivaleen Donaldson 145b, 175b; Flarce Creel 229, 147 (t? b?); L. E. Hannah 83t, 500.


Kermit Adams called the class to order leading song on page 134. Leaders: Ora Lee Fannin 212, 530; Elmer Conwill 288, 276; Velton Chafin 354t, 178; Eron White 384, 172 (for Unie B. Howard); Parnell Berry 173, 306; Ila Engle 498, 371; Emily Jones 318, 73t; Cecil Sanders 225 (t? b?); Gravis Ballinger 300, 34b; Lena Wakefield 47t, 546; Willodean Barton 274t, 145t.


Travis Keeton led song on page 68b to bring the class back together. Leaders: Josie Hyde 66, 234; Keterina Sanders 58, 454; Harrison Creel 111b, 138t, 512; John Hocutt 144, 138t, 475; Gene Wakefield 100, 56t; Gladys Bonds 57; Johnny Humber 200, 441; Mae Conwill 97, 78; Dawson Adams 328, 526 (?) (for Rose Altha Taylor); Pernie Pelfrey and Edna Pace 312b, 31b; Cecil Wakefield 480, 491; Mertice Graham 551, 448t; John Hyde 61, 544b; Travis Keeton 297. Kermit Adams and Travis Keeton led song on page 34t for the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer led by Milford Watts.

Chairman—Travis Keeton; Vice Chairman—Kermit Adams; Secretary—Pernie Pelfrey.