Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Mississippi State Sacred Harp Singing Convention

Antioch Primitive Baptist Church, Scott County, Mississippi

August 27-28, 2011

Saturday, August 27

The 83rd annual session of the Mississippi State Sacred Harp Singing Convention convened at Antioch Primitive Baptist Church for two days of worship in song service to our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, when and where the following proceedings were had, to wit: the Mississippi State Sacred Harp Singing Convention began with President Mark Davis calling the meeting to order and leading 37b. He welcomed everyone to the singing, and thanked Brother Alfred Bailey and the people of Antioch Primitive Baptist Church for having us there. Chaplain Arlon Gardner offered the opening prayer. President Davis appointed Warren Steel and Bill Hogan as the Arranging Committee.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: President—Mark Davis; Vice President—John Van Horn; Secretary—Jean Gray; Assistant Secretary—Darlene Reynolds; Chaplain—Arlon Gardner.

Leaders: Mark Davis 203; John Van Horn 300; Gene Gray 82t; Darlene Reynolds 484 (CB); Arlon Gardner and Samantha Gardner 277; Morgan Bunch 131 (CH); Sue Bunch 142 (CH); Robert Vaughn 547 (CH); Bill Hogan 464 (CB); John Hollingsworth 82t (CH); Sarah Beasley 59b (CH); Eddie Mash 237 (CH); Amy Armstrong 40; Nancy Hogan 95b (CB); Cliff Hall 129; Elizabeth Muhleisen 56b.

President Davis appointed Hugh McGuire, Henry McGuire, and Tim Gray to the Business and Credentials Committee.


Leaders: John Van Horn 72b; Hugh McGuire 155; Nancy Van Den Akker 206 (CH); Matthew Dawson 269; Gary Smith 281b (CH); Billy Hollingsworth 276 (CH); Jane Armstrong 63; Seth Holloway 117 (CH); Bobby Davis 479; Wanda Greg 460; Mary Ellen Schrock 171; Vicky Neyman 117; Regina Derstine 189; Tim Gray 200; Henry McGuire 199 (CB).

President Davis appointed Wanda Gregg and John Hollingsworth to the Memorial Committee. There was a motion and second to adjourn for lunch. The blessing before the noon meal was offered by Arlon Gardener.


Mark Davis led 137 to bring the class to order. Leaders: Mike McNeil 172 (CH); Warren Steel 181; Wilma Mitchell 204t (CH); Bobby Caldwell 216t (CH); Patti Monroe and Lyndy Berryhill 31t; Lyndy Berryhill 39t; Linda Funderburk 288; Hannah Monroe 282; Betsy Berryhill 77t; Hugh Bill McGuire, Hugh McGuire, and Henry McGuire 64 (CH); Junie McNeil and Mike McNeil 43 (CH); Mark Davis 258 (CH); Warren Steel 208b (CH); Jean Gray 299; Darlene Reynolds 569b; Mark Davis 236.


The class was brought back together by John Van Horn leading 332. Leaders: Morgan Bunch 465 (CB); Sue Bunch 547; Robert Vaughn 167b (CH); Bill Hogan 214 (CH); Eddie Mash and Bill Hollingsworth 487t (WB); Sarah Beasley 56b (CH); Amy Armstrong and Carey Armstrong 159; Nancy Hogan 432b (CH); Mary Ellen Schrock 505 (CB); Mark Davis 457.

Announcements were made. On motion and second, the class was dismissed by President Mark Davis until 10:00 a.m. Sunday morning. The Drone was sung, and prayer was offered by Mike McNeil.

Sunday, August 28

President Mark Davis opened the Sunday morning session of the Mississippi State Sacred Harp Singing Convention by leading 123t, and welcomed everyone back to the singing convention. Chaplain Arlon Gardner offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Mark Davis 101b; John Van Horn 204b (CH), 133; Jean Gray 143, 108t; Darlene Reynolds 490; Darlene Reynolds and Billy Hollingsworth 486t (CH); Arlon Gardner 455, 67; Morgan Bunch 140 (CB), 392; Ken Tate 544 (CH), 372b (CH); Sue Bunch 280 (CH), 107; Danny Creel 308 (CH), 354 (CH). President Mark Davis appointed Billy Hollingsworth and Gary Smith to the Resolutions Committee.


Leaders: John Van Horn 76b (CH); Billy Hollingsworth 19 (CH), 546t (CH); Sarah Beasley and Bill Hogan 333 (CH); Sarah Beasley 106 (CH); Susan Dickey 128, 154; Mark Davis 117 (CH) (for all the folks at Antioch Primitive Baptist Church); Nancy Hogan 543 (CB), 149 (CH); Nancy Van Den Akker 339 (CH), 50 (CH); Bill Hogan 186 (CH),168b (CH). Arlon Gardner offered the blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session was opened by Mark Davis leading 176b. Leaders: Gary Smith 128t (CH), 46t (CH); Mary Ellen Schrock 573 (CB), 572 (CB); John Hollingsworth 182, 51 (CH); Matthew Dawson 212, 436; Wanda Greg 186, 408; Seth Holloway 258 (CH), 109 (CH); Hugh McGuire 365, 240; Cliff Hall 47b, 268; Mike McNeil 522 (CB), 176 (CH).

A business meeting was held. The Business and Credentials Committee reported the amount of collection. Motion and second for donation of money as follows: $250.00 Sacred Harp Musical Heritage Association for Camp Fasola Scholarship; $40.00 to WCPC Sacred Harp Hour Radio Program; $300.00 to Antioch Primitive Baptist Church, and $85.00 to minutes.

The Memorial Committee (John Hollingsworth and Wanda Gregg) conducted the memorial lesson. John Hollingsworth named the members who have passed away this past year as follows: Bernice Embry-Mississippi; Pat Ridgon, Ernestine Pipkin, and Clarence McCool-Alabama. He led 548 (CH).

Wanda Gregg read the names of the following sick and shut-ins: W.M. Allen, Billie Arnold, John Merritt, and Travis Keeton. She led 50b.

The Resolutions Committee offered the following report: The members of the 83rd meeting of the Mississippi State Sacred Harp Singing Convention wish to thank God for the ability and willingness to come together to sing. We thank Antioch Primitive Baptist Church for extending their hospitality, and the use of this wonderful building. We thank the people who came from near and far to sing praises to God. We thank all who helped provide a bountiful lunch both days. We resolve to meet again next year to join our hearts and voices. Motion and second to accept all committee reports and dispense the committees.


The class resumed singing with Mark Davis leading 36b. Leaders: Regina Derstine and Todd Derstine 270; Henry McGuire 492 (WB), 254 (WB); Amy Armstrong 215; Jane Armstrong 312b; Junie McNeil 319, 145t; Hugh Bill McGuire, Henry McGuire, and Hugh McGuire 393t (CB).

Announcements were made. Motion and second to adjourn, and close the convention. The Drone was the closing song. John Hollingsworth offered the closing prayer.

President—Mark Davis; Vice President—John Van Horn; Secretary—Jean Gray