Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Chafin, Harbinson, and Hollis Memorial

New Prospect Church, Cullman County, Alabama

Sunday, July 17, 2011

The 139th session of the Chafin, Harbinson, and Hollis Memorial Sacred Harp Singing was held at New Prospect Church, Cullman County, Alabama, on the third Sunday in July. The class was called to order by Velton Chafin leading 31b. The morning prayer was offered by Larry Chafin.

Velton Chafin led 30t and 35 (in memory of Panama Creel and Jaime Chafin). Brenda Chafin welcomed the class. The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Velton Chafin; Vice Chairman—Harrison Creel; Secretary—Ann Jett; Arranging Committee—Brenda Chafin and Elene Stovall.

Leaders: Don Keeton 390; Kramer Klein 76b; Cheyenne Ivey 222; Yancey Jett 440; Sarah Beasley 340; Barbara Jones 177; Seth Poston 275b; Jerry Ryan 274t; Gary Smith 31t; Tom George 164; Wayne Jones 134; Nathan Rees 402; B.M. Smith 410t; Dennis George 186; Scott Ivey 385b; Linda Sides 82b; Harrison Creel 111b; Blake Sisemore 352; Richard Mauldin 84; Judy Caudle 564; Nate Green and Norma Green 206, 207; Rodney Ivey 203.


The class was called back together by Velton Chafin leading 112. Leaders: Susan Cherones 40; Geraldine Sharpton 178; Danny Creel 386; Elene Stovall 411; Buell Cobb 439; Bea Carnathan 204; Lucy Heidorn 155; Larry Chafin 63; Ann Jett 269; Seth Holloway 388; Shane Wootten 131b; Lisa Geist 546; Ken Tate 313t; Earl Ballinger 310; Larry Ballinger 425; Chris Ballinger 44; Don Keeton 498; Yancey Jett 144; Margie Smith 317; Jerry Ryan 319; Geraldine Sharpton 318; B.M. Smith 350; Sarah Beasley 129. Richard Mauldin offered the blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Velton Chafin and Larry Chafin leading 445. Leaders: Susan Cherones 74b; Butch White 34b; Judy Caudle 392; Scott Ivey 182; Seth Poston 309; Julianna Jett 142; Elsie Moon 494; Velton Chafin and Brenda Chafin 55; Brenda Chafin 347; Blake Sisemore 560; Cheyenne Ivey 208; Shane Wootten 336; Lucy Heidorn 217; Rodney Ivey 91; Tom George 215; Bea Carnathan 568; Dennis George 220, 419 (for Ozella Blackmon); Nathan Rees 292; Kramer Klein 517; Wayne Jones 270; Harrison Creel 342; Linda Sides 454; Buell Cobb 81b; Ann Jett and Julianna Jett 108b; Chris Ballinger 472; Richard Mauldin 312b; Danny Creel and Elsie Moon 456; Lisa Geist 224; Gary Smith 268; Earl Ballinger 167; Ken Tate 166; Kramer Klein 129 (by request, for Travis Keeton); Elene Stovall, Bea Carnathan, and Rodney Ivey 365 (in memory of Amanda Denson Brady); Larry Ballinger 540; Seth Holloway 341 (for Travis Keeton and in memory of Billy Williams).

Announcements were made. Velton Chafin and Harrison Creel led 521 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Earl Ballinger, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Velton Chafin; Vice Chairman—Harrison Creel; Secretary—Ann Jett