Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Walker County Convention

New Hope Primitive Baptist Church, Walker County, Alabama

Saturday, July 16, 2011

The 97th session of the Walker County Sacred Harp Singing Convention was held at New Hope Primitive Baptist Church in Walker County, Alabama, on Saturday before the third Sunday in July. The class was called to order by Velton Chafin leading 46. The opening prayer was offered by Danny Creel.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Vice Chairman—Velton Chafin; Secretary—Brenda Chafin; Chaplain—Danny Creel; Arranging Committee—Don Keeton; Memorial Committee—Linda Sides and Judy Caudle.

Leaders: Velton Chafin 42; Glenn Keeton 59; Don Keeton 58, 225t; Danny Creel 47t, 47b; Linda Sides 32t, 39t; Angela Myers 30t, 30b; Brenda Chafin 480, 426b; Margaret Keeton 179 (for Travis Keeton), 57; Barbara Jones 276, 277; Hubert Nall 145b, 61; Charles Kitchens 387; Ottis Sides 475; Butch White 503, 178; Susan Cherones 74b, 40; Wayne Jones 129, 159.


Glenn Keeton and Isabella Keeton led 321 and 108t to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Jerry Kitchens 74t, 100; Judy Caudle 90, 167; B.M. Smith 204, 313t; Henry Guthery 402, 343; Delone Cobbs 120, 44; Gary Smith 66, 565; Steve Adams and Richard Mauldin 378t, 401.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Linda Sides and Judy Caudle. Judy read a devotional from the writings of Charles H. Spurgeon, and read the list of names of the sick and shut-ins as follows: Travis Keeton, Johnnie Chafin, John Merritt, Willodean Barton, Juanita Hill, Bud Oliver, Sammie Oliver, Clarence McCool, Cecil Sanders, Coy Ivey, Lonnie Rogers, Wilburn Ellison, Stella Pratt, Leona Haynes, S.T. Reed, Hugh Bill McGuire, and Kathleen Robbins. Linda Sides led 56t.

Judy Caudle read the following names of the deceased: Helen Langston, Billy Williams, Rhoda Norris, Vernelle Forbes Amason, Elsie Nall Ancelete, Dorothy Nall McWhite, and Faye Nall Klienschmidt. Judy Caudle and Linda Sides led 86, and Linda offered prayer to close the memorial service.

Glenn Keeton led 349 for Clarence McCool and Betty Lofton.


The afternoon session began with Velton Chafin leading 175. Leaders: Christopher Mann 127, 67; Richard Mauldin 340, 72b, 68b (for Johnnie Chafin and Travis Keeton); Bea Carnathan 205, 438; Eugene Forbes 302, 318; Seth Poston 275b, 358; Sarah Beasley 146; Susan Cherones 63; Betty Lofton 36b; Jerry Kitchens 112; Charles Kitchens 378b, 399b; Wayne Jones 137; Judy Caudle 470 (for Josie Hyde); B.M. Smith 426t; Seth Holloway 354t, 209.

Announcements were made. Velton Chafin and Glenn Keeton led 267 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Danny Creel, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Vice Chairman—Velton Chafin; Secretary—Brenda Chafin