Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Quebec Sacred Harp Convention

Lennoxville, Quebec, and Ways Mills, Quebec

July 8-9, 2011

Friday evening, July 8

The class was called to order at 7:30 p.m. by Chuck Neville, who offered prayer, and then led 47t.

Leaders: Somen Goodman 569b; Scott Luscombe 39t; Ines Salzer 448b; Howard Katz 99t; Kathleen Manning 448t; Jackie Hall 40; Emily Tocci 111t; Masti Mayrand 82t; Cathy Brochet 86; Phil Dutton 504; Somen Goodman 168; Scott Luscombe 353; Ines Salzer 445; Howard Katz 48t; Kathleen Manning 73t; Mary Jo Shafer 33b; Pat Callahan 112; Bobbie Goodell 171.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Chuck Neville; Secretary—Ruth Doerfler.


Chuck Neville led 347 to bring the class to order. Leaders: Dara Weiss 276; Max Kelly 209; Jackie Hall 410t; Emily Tocci 547; Masti Mayrand 515; Cathy Brochet 503; Mary Neville 228; Phil Dutton 163b; Patrick Dedauw 146; Somen Goodman 47b; Scott Luscombe 334; Pat Callahan 30t; Ines Salzer 377; Chuck Neville 288.

A prayer was offered by Chuck Neville to close the session.

Saturday, July 9

The Saturday session of the Quebec Sacred Harp Convention was called to order at 10:30 a.m. by Chuck Neville. He offered the morning prayer, and then led 68b.

Leaders: Sue Dewelle 497; Dara Weiss 32t; Max Kelley 183; Bobbie Goodell 40; Emily Tocci 312b; Scott Luscombe 181; Pat Gilchrist 546; Ines Salzer 176t; Mary Neville 480; Phil Dutton 344; Patrick Dedauw 122; Somen Goodman 48t; Howard Katz 481; Kathleen Manning 186; Mary Jo Shafer 335; Janet Ross Snyder 228.


Chuck Neville led 162 to bring the class to order. Leaders: Haley Lewis 318; Max Kelley 155; Leonard Spencer 95; Mary Jo Shafer 229; Wendy Gilchrist 44; Carol Dempsey 168; Patrick Dedauw 165.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Leonard Spencer, who read the list of names of those who were deceased as follows: Fortin Daughter—Vermont; Barbara Stoddard—North Carolina; Joanne Bowman—Massachusetts; Derwood Cunnington—Quebec; Patty Van Dyne—Pennsylvania; George Seiler, Virginia Luscombe, Sidney Katz, and Cynthia Katz—New York. He led 499.

Leonard Spencer read the list of names of the sick and shut-ins as follows: Cheryl Stroud, Meredith Akey, Remi Paillard, Poppy Gregory, John Merritt, Stella Acelas, and Karen Keeler. Leonard then led 454.

Leaders: Pat Callahan 510; Sue Dewelle 410t; Dara Weiss 277; Max Kelley 203; Bobbie Goodell 472; Bill Holt 473; Eric Hilldebrand 551; Scott Luscombe “Golden Streets”; David Highlander 178; Phil Dutton 269. Chuck Neville offered a blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Chuck Neville leading 49b. Leaders: Ines Salzer 383; Mary Neville 528; Emily Tocci 299; Patrick Dedauw 82t; Somen Goodman 143; Howard Katz 362; Kathleen Manning 442; David Baretta 272; Bill Holt 306; Eric Hilldebrand 532; Cathy Brochet 523; Mary Jo Shafer 288. A singing school lesson was conducted by Howard Katz on the subject of common time.


Leaders: Max Kelley 117; Leonard Spencer 260; Wendy Gillchrist 56b; Carol Dempsey 270; Dara Weiss 345b; Janet Ross Snyder 71; Masti Mayrand 131b; Scott Luscombe 506; Cathy Brochet 163b; Phil Dutton 390; Inez Salzer 564; Kathleen Manning 365; Mary Neville 378b; Mary Jo Schafer 101t; Bobbie Goodell 496; Peter 448t; Elka Schumann 198; Max Dedauw 146; Kathleen Manning 515; Mary Neville 217; Ezra (no last name listed) 136.

Chuck Neville led 62 as the closing song. He offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Chuck Neville; Secretary—Ruth Doerfler