Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Liberty Decoration Singing

Liberty Church, Henagar, Alabama

Sunday, June 5, 2011

The annual Decoration Day Sacred Harp singing held at Liberty Church, Henagar, Alabama, on the first Sunday in June was called to order by Richard Ivey leading 82t. The morning prayer was offered by Henry Johnson.

Leaders: Richard Ivey 61; Shane Wootten 36b; Norma Green and Nate Green 317; Donna Wootten 74b; Jackie Tanner 421; Rex Wilks 68b; Scott Ivey 67; Eloise Wootten 222; Hobert Ivey and Scott Ivey 47t; Linda Sides 328; Phil Summerlin 97; Cheyenne Ivey 77t; Nathan Rees 435; Sally House 503; Marlon Wootten 452; Judy Caudle 403; David Ivey 38b; Shirley Figura 565; Blake Sisemore 445; Sylvia Ivey and J.T. Shavers 145b; Daniel Lee 99; Judy Whiting 72b; Marty Wootten 168; Mary Ruth Stiefel and Jeanette Dollar 100; Ed Thacker 29t; Loretta Smith and Amy Smith 171.

The memorial lesson was held in the cemetery with the class singing 571 (CB), 572 (CB), 500 (CB), and 45t.


The class was brought back together by Scott Ivey leading 88t. Leaders: Paul Figura 128; Alex Makris 119; David Killingsworth 290; Joan Aldridge 276; Barrett Patton 313t; Sharon DuPriest 300; Tom George 391; Allison Whitener 492; Linton Ballinger 314; Stuart Ivey 446; Susan Cherones 63; Darrell Swarens 341; Myra Dalton 332; Dennis George 134; Linda Thomas 217; Scot Oliver 176b; Jackson Harcrow and Maci Gouvitsa 45t; Jackson Harcrow 385b; David Hufstetler 101t; Elene Stovall and Rodney Ivey 42 (for Bud Oliver); Eddie Mash 556; Chris Brown 298; Jonathon Smith 129; Sandy Ivey 201. The blessing before the noon meal was offered by Blake Sisemore.


The afternoon session was called to order by Richard Ivey leading 345t. Leaders: Angela Myers 148; Daphene Causey 84; Jared Wootten and Jamey Wootten 440; Betty Shepherd, Judy Caudle, and Angela Myers 216; Nate Green 166; Sarah Jenkins and Joel Jenkins 299; Jenna Strizak 228; Rodney Ivey 30b; Cindy Tanner 442; Tom Malone 464; Shane Wootten 348b (in memory of storm victims); Susan Harcrow 500; Loyd Ivey, Ivey Biddle, Martha Underwood, Doug Ivey, Lilly Underwood, Teresa Bethune, Adam Biddle, Jessica Ivey, and Marion Biddle 454, 501 (CB); Heather Ikeler 114; Roberta Strauss 542; Coy Ivey, Loyd Ivey, Eloise Wootten, Jack Ivey, Hobert Ivey, Betty Shepherd, Lois Baugh, Linda Patton, Norma Green, and Rex Wilks 511t (CB), 465 (CB); Karen Travis and Tim Travis 49b; Karen Ivey and Allison Whitener 192; Deb Morton 480; Aaron Little 448t; Charles Stiefel 312b; Syble Adams and Richard Ivey 196; Claudine Townson 270; Alex Craig and Zach Craig 178; Anne Drexler, Shirley Figura, Paul Figura, and Roberta Strauss 87; Jonathon Smith, Nathan Rees, and Rodney Ivey 358 (by request).

Following announcements, Richard Ivey, Hobert Ivey, and Loyd Ivey led 146 as the closing song. Blake Sisemore offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Richard Ivey; Vice Chairman—Shane Wootten; Secretary—Donna Wootten