Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Mt. Zion Primitive Baptist Church Homecoming

Mt. Zion Primitive Baptist Church, Ashland, Alabama

Sunday, May 1, 2011

The annual Homecoming Sacred Harp singing at Mt. Zion Primitive Baptist Church was called to order by Eugene Forbes leading 112. The opening prayer was offered by Jack Nelson.

The following officers were elected to serve: Chairman—Eugene Forbes; Secretary—Edna Phillips; Arranging Committee—Myrline Redmon.

Leaders: Marilyn Bradley 47b, 47t; Stanley Edwards 442, 171; Jack Nelson 165, 141; Judy Chambless 339, 146 (for Anne Chalker); Robert Chambless 503, 84; Wendy Futral 369, 35; William Futral 490, 45t (in memory of Howard McGuire).


Eugene Forbes led 101t to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Richard Mauldin 100, 66, 358; Pam Anderson 480, 334; Nell Estes 371, 40.

Richard Mauldin conducted the memorial lesson. He spoke and led 143. He read the following list of sick and shut-ins: Willodean Barton, Teenie Moody, Clarence McCool, Leona Haynes, Stella Pratt, Lonnie Rogers, Bud Oliver, Sammie Oliver, the Sheppard family, Nick Griffin, Carlene Griffin, Evelyn Harris, and Buddy Ballinger.

Richard read the following list of deceased: Jerry Enright, Henry Japeth Jackson, Billy Williams, George Seiler, Vernell Forbes Amason, Mary Florence Smith, Rhoda Mae Norris, Willie Mae Moon, Howard McGuire, and Maudie Fredrick. Also remembered were the victims of the tornadoes. The memorial service was closed with prayer offered by Eugene Forbes.

Leader: Virginia Futral 569b, 145b.


The afternoon session began with Eugene Forbes leading 186. Leaders: Audress Gurley 571 (CB), 282; Floy Wilder 293, 297; Lori Hinesley 189, 164; Edna Phillips 166, 452; Myrline Redmon 200, 36b, 208; Eugene Forbes 400; Robert Chambless 72b; Richard Mauldin 378t; Judy Chambless 494; Jack Nelson 73t; Stanley Edwards 83t; Marilyn Bradley 34b; William Futral and Wendy Futral 323b; Lori Hinesley 496; Floy Wilder 299; Nell Estes 313t; Stanley Edwards 220.

Announcements were made. Eugene Forbes led 46 as the closing song. Jack Nelson offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Eugene Forbes; Secretary—Edna Phillips