Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Edwardsville Baptist Church

Edwardsville, Cleburne County, Alabama

Sunday, April 3, 2011

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Edwardsville Baptist Church was held on the first Sunday in April. Stanley Edwards welcomed everyone and called the class to order by leading 317 and 129. Cecil Roberts offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Ed Thacker 48t, 213t; Pearl Guier 32t, 59.

The class was organized and retained the same officers: Chairman—Stanley Edwards; Vice Chairman—Ed Thacker; Secretary—Pearl Guier; Arranging Committee—Judy Chambless.

Leaders: Jan House 68b, 361; Robert Chambless 72b, 143; Henry Johnson 111t, 111b; Myron House 109, 113; Cecil Roberts 86, 229; Marilyn Bradley and Stanley Edwards 58, 34t; Karen Rollins 225t (for Lonnie Rogers), 227.


Stanley Edwards led 56t to bring the class back to order. Leaders: B.M. Smith 136, 101t; Charlene Wallace 79, 155 (for Carlene Griffin); Glenda Collins and Bert Collins 354b, 45t (for Glenda’s mother and aunts); Evelyn Harris 47t, 87; John Plunkett 175, 181; Jackson Harcrow 31t, 159; Virginia Futral 569b, 145b; Blake Sisemore 30b, 434; Wendy Futral 35, 100; Lou Cotney 358, 300; William Futral and Wendy Futral 61, 490; Ruth Daniel 378t, 335; Judy Chambless 494, 501. Rev. Bobby Garner, pastor of the church, gave a brief message of welcome, and offered the blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Stanley Edwards leading 283. A memorial lesson was conducted by Jan House. Myron House led 206 for the following sick and shut-ins: Bud Oliver, Sammie Oliver, S.T. Reed, Lessie Reed, Nickie Smallwood, George Garner, Lucy Garner, Lonnie Rogers, Buddy Ballinger, Ted Yoder, John Naegle, Carlene Griffin, Nick Griffin, Teenie Moody, and Mary Martha Fox.

John Plunkett led 330b for the following deceased: Earl Turner, Bert Ciles, Jean Parker, Tia Cruise, Mary Florence Smith, Joanne Bowman, and Myrtle Wootten. The memorial service was closed with prayer offered by Cecil Roberts.

Leaders: Karen Rollins 350; Cecil Roberts 37b; Glenda Collins and Bert Collins 340; Lou Cotney 222; Jackson Harcrow 385t; Evelyn Harris, Ruth Daniel, and Nellie Mae White 303 (for Jeff Sheppard); Blake Sisemore 168; Wendy Futral and William Futral 341, 339; B.M. Smith 318; Charlene Wallace 276 (for Oscar McGuire); Henry Johnson 535; Robert Chambless 34b; Jan House and Myron House 284; Marilyn Bradley and Stanley Edwards 47b; Ed Thacker 472; John Plunkett 45b.

Announcements were made. Stanley Edwards led 435 as the closing song. Cecil Roberts dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Stanley Edwards; Vice Chairman—Ed Thacker; Secretary—Pearl Guier