Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Calhoun County Convention

Mt. Moriah Primitive Baptist Church, Four Mile Community, between Anniston and Jacksonville, Alabama

Saturday, September 18, 2010

The 96th session of the Calhoun County Convention was brought to order at 9:30 a.m. by Jeff Sheppard leading 32t. Cecil Roberts offered the opening prayer. Jeff Sheppard welcomed everyone, and B. M. Smith led 204.

Leaders: Pam Nunn 186, 155; Judy Chambless 143, 321; S. T. Reed 131b, 134; Cecil Roberts 49b, 33b; Paula Oliver 385 (t? b?), 222; Richard Mauldin 378t, 35; Nate Green and Norma Green 354t, 335; Robert Chambless 523, 72b; Lou Cotney 172, 384.

A business session was held and the following officers were elected to serve: Chairman—B. M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Rene Greene; Secretary—Pam Nunn; Arranging Committee—Judy Chambless.


B. M. Smith called the class to order leading 111b. Leaders: Henry Johnson 81t, 87; Margie Smith 405, 313t; Charlene Wallace 63, 77t; Michael Rich 100, 159; Ed Thacker 316, 176b; Shelbie Sheppard 27, 36b; Rene Greene 298, 371. The morning session was brought to a close, and the noon meal was blessed by Cecil Roberts.


The afternoon session was brought to order by B. M. Smith leading 282. Leaders: Paula Oliver 216, 40; Curtis Hamrick 192, 500; Ann Simmons 354b, 452; Richard Mauldin 503; Jeff Sheppard, Rene Greene, and Pam Nunn 439; Ed Thacker 381; S. T. Reed 388; Lou Cotney 300; Nate Green, Norma Green, and Eloise Jerome 61; Henry Johnson 138t; B. M. Smith and Margie Smith 441; Michael Rich 490; Charlene Wallace 49t; Cecil Roberts 31t; Curtis Hamrick 45t; Ann Simmons 455; Robert Chambless and Judy Chambless 274t.

B. M. Smith led 46 as the closing song. Cecil Roberts offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—B. M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Rene Greene; Secretary—Pam Nunn